Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Dynamic Mesh - Vertex Selection for ingame or editor modification

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Lions4, Feb 4, 2014.

  1. Lions4

    Lions4

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Posts:
    34
    Dynamic Mesh System



    Description
    Dynamic Mesh System is a tool that allows you to easily select and move the vertices of the mesh in the editor or in-game. it builds the vertices of the mesh into empty game objects that you can move and select inside the editor and then click "Update Mesh" or enable the "Real-Time Update" button to modify the mesh in realtime in the editor, you can also move the empty game objects with your scripts in real time inside the game and use "UpdateMesh()", this allows you to make vertex selections to modify during runtime.
    So you can make a script that moves a game object then drag and drop the empty vertex game object to your script and start the game.

    Asset Store
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2014
  2. Lions4

    Lions4

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Posts:
    34
    Warning: Until further updates please remember to turn of Real-Time Editor Update before entering into the game mode , it is meant for use in the editor mode only. Use UpdateMesh() after you move the game objects for ingame mesh update.


    editing / moving the mesh vertices position directly in the unity 3d editor
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2014
  3. Lions4

    Lions4

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Posts:
    34
    bumb
     
  4. Lions4

    Lions4

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Posts:
    34
  5. Lions4

    Lions4

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Posts:
    34
  6. harveyhb

    harveyhb

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    Hello,

    This is perfect for what I need.

    Is the issue fixed with using the Real Time editing in game?
     
  7. iko

    iko

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Posts:
    13
    Excuse me for noob question: I've inserted 2 quads in my scene. Then I've added your dynamic mesh component but when I try to change mesh of a quad it updates the other too.

    How can I change mesh of one instance only ?

    Thanks
    Bye
    Fred
     
    Zimbres likes this.
  8. lesiry

    lesiry

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    great job!
     
  9. jshrek

    jshrek

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Posts:
    220
    Can you modify the Unity Box Collider or Sphere Collider, or does it come with basic shapes (like box, sphere, pyramid) that can be used and modified?
     
  10. jshrek

    jshrek

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Posts:
    220
  11. dzonileona

    dzonileona

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    Need help, please!

    I have a problem with saving modified mesh,
    am I doing something wrong:
    1. add Dynamic Mesh component to imported mesh
    2. Build Arrays
    3. Real-Time Update ON
    4. modify vertex
    5. Real-Time Update OFF
    6. Update mesh
    7. Clear (tried without this step also)
    8. Save scene
    9. Reload scene -> original mesh - not modified
     
  12. ZJP

    ZJP

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,646
    Still alive?:confused:
     
  13. kalagaan

    kalagaan

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Posts:
    821
    Add a MeshCollider component on the gameobject and a small script to copy the modified mesh.
    Here the script ;)

    using UnityEngine;
    using System.Collections;

    public class UpdateMeshCollider : MonoBehaviour {

    MeshFilter m_mf;
    MeshCollider m_mc;

    // Use this for initialization
    void Start () {

    m_mf = GetComponent<MeshFilter> ();
    m_mc = GetComponent<MeshCollider> ();

    }

    // Update is called once per frame
    void FixedUpdate () {

    m_mc.sharedMesh = m_mf.mesh;

    }
    }
     
  14. vickyvanadium

    vickyvanadium

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    can it modify circles??
     
  15. ZJP

    ZJP

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,646
  16. D12Duke1

    D12Duke1

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Posts:
    103
    Does this work for Unity 5.3?