Search Unity

TextMesh Pro Dynamic margins hardcoded?

Discussion in 'UGUI & TextMesh Pro' started by J_P_, Apr 27, 2018.

1. J_P_

J_P_

White text is Unity's text and I want that positioning. Gray text is TextMesh Pro and even though margins are set to 0 and both have alignment set to left/bottom, you see the gray text is farther from the bounding box. If the font size is reduced, it gets closer to the edges. Oddly, if I set to top alignment, it goes down some (but not all the way).

Same behavior with the built in font assets so I don't think it's my custom one causing issues. Same behavior whether I use Auto Size or change size manually. Am I missing something (I'm new to TextMesh Pro)?

I'm in 5.6.2f1 and the asset store gave me TextMesh Pro 1.0.54.

I'm trying to use TextMesh Pro because on iPad 3, that large text (set to "best fit") literally takes several seconds to update when using Unity's ugui Text...

Last edited: Apr 27, 2018
  2. Stephan_B

Stephan_B

There are several things that could affect the alignment of the text. The font asset, its metrics like Ascender, Baseline and Descender and the margins. Unfortunately, the images above don't provide enough information to know what exactly is contributing to the result you are showing above.

Included in the example scripts provided with TextMesh Pro is a script named "TMP_TextInfoDebugTool.cs", add this script to this Bob text object. Then enable Show Characters as per the image below.

upload_2018-4-27_0-10-40.png

This tool will allow you to visualize the bounds of characters (yellow box), Ascender, Cap Height, Baseline and Descender (blue lines) of each characters. So when using bottom alignment, the bottom blue line (Descender) should be aligned with the bottom of the RectTransform / margin in case it was changed. Margins can be seen in the Extra Settings.

Here is an image using the word BOB but with Futura Bold (I don't have Futura but the metrics should be similar).

upload_2018-4-27_0-14-23.png