Search Unity

  1. We are looking for your feedback about Templates! Tell us about your experiences by taking our survey.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Curious about what's going to be in 2021.1? Have a look at the 2021.1 beta blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Bug Duplicate curve binding in Controller with Unity 2020.1 and 2020.2

Discussion in '2020.1 Beta' started by transat, Jul 8, 2020.

  1. transat

    transat

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Posts:
    772
    When using Horse Animset Pro's character controller in 2020.1 or 2020.2 I get this error a number of times upon launching the editor:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. Found a duplicate curve binding in Controller "Rider v2" with the name "IKLeftFoot". This may result in unexpected behaviour.
    2. Found a duplicate curve binding in Controller "Rider v2" with the name "IKRightFoot". This may result in unexpected behaviour.
    I've just found a post about someone trying the Opsive character controller in 2020.1 and experiencing this as well:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. Found a duplicate curve binding in Controller "ThirdPersonControllerDemo" with the name "LegIndex". This may result in unexpected behaviour. UnityEngine.GUIUtility:PattachFull657239rocessEvent(Int32, IntPtr, Boolean&)
    One consequence of the error is being unable to view transitions in the Animator.

    Are there any changes to 2020 that could be causing this?
     
  2. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,407
  3. Baste

    Baste

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Posts:
    5,321
    @LeonhardP, your link is this thread. Did you perhaps mean to link something else?
     
  4. DavidGeoffroy

    DavidGeoffroy

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Posts:
    404
  5. transat

    transat

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Posts:
    772
  6. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    2,407
    It's possible that the warning might be triggered by something it's not supposed to be triggered by. It would be helpful if you could submit a bug report for this with a reproduction project so we can have a look.
     
  7. transat

    transat

    Joined:
    May 5, 2018
    Posts:
    772
    Ok cool. Case number: 1263693
    Cheers.

    EDIT:

    Bonus bug:

    I didn't bother to update the shaders to URP in this quick repro project. For the package used in the project, this can be done by going to Tools->Malbers Animations->Upgrade... BUT having now just done this myself... the command crashes the project. The menu command updates all the shaders except for the Color4x2 Emission shader... which I presume triggers the crash. That shader also happens to be the only one with a space in the name.

    EDIT 2:

    Maybe not related to the space after all? The third or fourth time i tried the menu command it worked. Weird.
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2020
    LeonhardP likes this.
  8. indemandgames

    indemandgames

    Joined:
    May 21, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    i also have these issue Screen Shot 2020-08-12 at 12.31.54 PM.png
     
  9. ZeroThreeZero

    ZeroThreeZero

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2020
    Posts:
    9
    Same issue here. I have two animator params ("IKLeftFootWeight" and "IKRightFootWeight") and specified a curve for both params on my imported animations (see attached screenshot).

    If I change the curve names, the warnings dissapear, but they need to match of course.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Elitheterrible

    Elitheterrible

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Hey, i just had the same warning pop up, i think it was triggered by an animation i'v put into the animator but haven't connected to anything
     

    Attached Files:

  11. ChamathNad

    ChamathNad

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Hello, I got this error and came for here, didn't got a answer from here.. But I solve the issue for me.

    Problem occurred to me while trying to make a new animation to my animator. I did it with adding the entire Animator Property from the 'add Property' in animation window.
    in my case;
    by doing the above action it add all the points to the animation as well as the Parameters, so my parameters are trying to be modified by both animator and animation occurring this warning/error. so simply removing those duplicated properties fixed my issue.

    Hope this discovery helps you guys.
     
  12. Meatgrind

    Meatgrind

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Posts:
    51
    Yeah, our project also started spamming hundreds of warnings about foot IK curves as duplicates on our player character. Can't really sort out a repro project from this since it's a huge project and has tons of dependencies all over, but definitely got this problem only when upgrading from 2019.4.9f1 => 2020.1.6f1.
     
  13. Aoedipus

    Aoedipus

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2019
    Posts:
    15
    Same. 2020.1.8f1. Transition states no longer appear in the animator for any layer that is not the 'Base Layer'. Manually recreating all transitions that are not part of the base layer seems to make them reappear as expected. Duplicate curve binding warning still appears. If no fix exists, how can the warning be suppressed?
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2020
  14. wustafae

    wustafae

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    same 2020.1.7f1
     
unityunity