Search Unity

Question Draw Generated Meshes (Custom Hybrid Renderer)

Discussion in 'Graphics for ECS' started by Opeth001, Jul 25, 2020.

1. Opeth001

Opeth001

Hello Everyone,

I am optimizing my custom hybrid renderer by minimizing 'Draw Calls' combining visible entities Meshes each frame.

I have no experience with Unity's Mesh class and I need help creating / modifying a mesh on each frame to draw it in an optimized way.

Generated MeshData:
    Code (CSharp):
    2. public struct BlobMeshData
    3.     {
    4.         public BlobArray<float3> Vertices;
    5.         public BlobArray<float3> Normals;
    6.         public BlobArray<int> Triangles;
    7.         public BlobArray<float2> Uvs;
    8.     }
    note: all Meshes are referencing the same Material.
    Textures are Packed and Uvs are updated when subscene is closed using the GameObjectConversionSystem workflow.

My Questions:

1) is there a way to directly draw a mesh (+ material, layer ...) without having to create / update a new / old mesh? (GC)
    * I have seen the advanced methods of Mesh Class before but I don't understand how it works.

2) does the limit of 65536 vert... per Mesh still exist?
    * I have seen this limit warning on some random websites but not in the Unity documentation.

Thank you in Advance!

2. Fribur

Fribur

Here an old post addressing how to use the advanced Mesh API to generate Meshes from scratch: https://forum.unity.com/posts/5672914/

Unity has here an example how to get meshes, and combine them all into one (btw the vert limit is configurable via index parameter): https://github.com/Unity-Technologies/MeshApiExamples-2020.1

Hope the references help you to figure out how to get meshes, change them, store them back. All without GC. I found the most difficult part to figure out the vertex struct format...spend hours on that.

Opeth001 likes this.
  3. Opeth001

Opeth001

Thanks @Fribur !