Search Unity

DragRigidBody.js script error

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by grimmy, Feb 7, 2009.

  1. grimmy

    grimmy

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Posts:
    409
    After importing the dragrigidbody.js script to my project and try to build I get this error. How can this be as this is a script taken straight from the standard package?

    isKinematic is not a member of UnityEngine.Component

    Do i need to import some other script? Is this not supported in Unity Iphone??

    cheers

    P.S I am very new to this(as you can probably tell :roll:
     
  2. HiggyB

    HiggyB

    Unity Product Evangelist

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    6,183
    First off, welcome to the forums! :D

    I think that the problems may be due to the following lines of code:

    Code (csharp):
    1. 26: if (!springJoint)
    2. 27: {
    3. 28:   var go = new GameObject("Rigidbody dragger");
    4. 29:   body = go.AddComponent("Rigidbody");
    5. 30:   springJoint = go.AddComponent("SpringJoint");
    6. 31:   body.isKinematic = true;
    7. 32: }
    In particular lines 29 and 31 are suspect. Line 29 adds a component (Rigidbody), but body is then of type Component and not of type Rigidbody (thus the error about isKinematic not being part of a Component, when it is part of a Rigidbody component in specific). I think that the easiest fix is like this:

    Code (csharp):
    1. 26: if (!springJoint)
    2. 27: {
    3. 28:   var go = new GameObject("Rigidbody dragger");
    4. 29:   go.AddComponent("Rigidbody");
    5. 30:   springJoint = go.AddComponent("SpringJoint");
    6. 31:   go.rigidbody.isKinematic = true;
    7. 32: }
    We have a reference to the game object, after adding the rigidbody component we can access it straight away. Try that! :)
     
  3. shumno

    shumno

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Posts:
    29
    I'm getting a similar error and cannot figure out the cause. If you have any suggestions I'd certainly appreciate them.

    The script is:
    Code (csharp):
    1. var madness = 1;
    2. var puppet: GameObject;
    3. var flevel = 0;
    4. var ffactor = 0;
    5. var rfactor = 0.5;
    6.  
    7.  
    8. function Start () {
    9.  
    10.     //Set all animations to plsy once
    11.     animation.wrapMode = WrapMode.Once;
    12.     //except breathing
    13.     animation["idle_breath"].wrapMode = WrapMode.Loop;
    14.  
    15.     // play with layers
    16.     // animation["idle_breath"].layer = 0;
    17.     // animation.layers = 1;
    18.    
    19.     //stop any other animations
    20.     animation.Stop();  
    21.    
    22.     animation.Play("idle_breath");
    23.    
    24. }
    25.  
    26. function Update () {
    27.  
    28.    // left slap
    29.    if (Input.GetButton ("Fire1") ) {
    30.       animation.Play("slap_left");
    31.    }
    32.      
    33.    // right slap
    34.    else if (Input.GetButton ("Fire2")) {
    35.       animation.Play("slap_right");
    36.    }
    37.    
    38.    // squeeze head
    39.    else if (Input.GetButton ("Fire3") ) {
    40.       animation.Play("squeeze_head");
    41.    }
    42.    
    43.    // squeeze body
    44.    //else if (Input.GetButton ("Jump") ) {
    45.       //animation.Play("squeeze_body");
    46.    //}    
    47.    // head punch
    48.    //else if (Input.GetButton ("MouseX") ) {
    49.    //else if (Input.GetButton ("Jump") ) {
    50.       //animation.Play("face_punch");
    51.    //}
    52.    
    53.    // bodypunch
    54.    else if (Input.GetButton ("Jump") ) {
    55.       animation.Play("belly_punch");
    56.    }
    57.  
    58.    else {
    59.      animation.CrossFade("idle_breath");
    60.      //animation.Play("idle_breath");
    61.     }
    62.    
    63. }
     
  4. andeeeee

    andeeeee

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Posts:
    8,768
    Erm... this doesn't seem to have anything to do with the DragRigidbody error ;-)

    What exactly is the error you are getting with this script?
     
  5. shumno

    shumno

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Posts:
    29
    OK. I jumped the gun. Thanks for pointing it out :) My partner is developing the model and I'm doing the scripting and iPhone prototyping. We have a game which builds and runs on Windows in the Web Player. I purchased the Unity upgrade and iPhone module and have not been able to build and run the model once. When I saw the other post with a similar error I assumed it was related to my script.

    Thanks!