Search Unity

DownloadDependenciesAsync Addressables bundle fails on first attemp 1.1.7

Discussion in 'Addressables' started by hanniiel, Aug 7, 2019.

  1. hanniiel

    hanniiel

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Posts:
    36
    On new project cleared all data then
    -I Built Player Data on 1.1.7
    -Stored bundle data on server.
    -1st time I opened app and then called DownloadDependenciesAsync("BundleTag") directly then
    Exception RemoteBundleProvider unable to load from url. but tried to access url on browser directly and it works.
    -2nd time I opened the app and called DownloadDependenciesAsync("BundleTag") worked just fine.
    Is it because Init function?
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2019
  2. CharBodman

    CharBodman

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2018
    Posts:
    28
    Im concerned about this as well.

    Same thing has happened. I don't want users to experience this.
     
  3. hanniiel

    hanniiel

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Posts:
    36
    Right!, It's a bad user experience, Can't tell my users, "please restart app to keep working" :(
    I hope a fix is coming out soon.
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2019
  4. unity_bill

    unity_bill

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Posts:
    829

    So every time you build a new player, the first run of it will fail to download? But after the first run, it works? We haven't seen this before, so some additional details would really help. It shouldn't have anything to do with the init function. hmm. I can't imagine why the 2nd run would be any different than the first. Especially if there isn't even a fresh catalog to download.

    How many retries is your provider set to? You should see
    "Web request ... failed with error ..., retrying ..." a few times before seeing the failed to load form URL. Do you? Can you put in the exact errors you're seeing?
     
  5. hanniiel

    hanniiel

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Posts:
    36
    3 retries.
    can't see those logs with webrequest.
    yes it fails the first time, after installing app and opening and trying to download the 1st time.
    attached image above.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 9, 2019
  6. danilonishimura

    danilonishimura

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Posts:
    49
    @hanniiel If you build and publish the addressables and try to access the bundles from the webbrowser (not from within the game), does it work? *Check access for the catalog and dependencies.
     
  7. hanniiel

    hanniiel

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Posts:
    36
    It works, from the browser.
    Yes, it works but after the 1st attempt and after I close the app and open it again.(Android)
     
  8. hanniiel

    hanniiel

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Posts:
    36
    if It helps, I attached group schema config below.
    I'm not sure about de default value for Redirect Limit.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. danilonishimura

    danilonishimura

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Posts:
    49
    What if instead of closing the app and opening again, you destroy the instantiated assets, release all asyncOperationHandles, and load everything again?
     
  10. unity_bill

    unity_bill

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Posts:
    829
    one thing to try would be turning off "Use Asset Bundle Cache" and "Use Asset Bundle CRC". I'm wondering if it has something to do with a cache or crc check not getting initialized correctly.