Search Unity

  1. Unity Asset Manager is now available in public beta. Try it out now and join the conversation here in the forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

Graphics Doubling of light intensity not needed (anymore?) when upgrading from Unity 4?

Discussion in '5.4 Beta' started by AcidArrow, Jun 19, 2016.

  1. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    11,960
    Is doubling of light intensity when upgrading from 4 to 5 still necessary? Unity 4 used to do atten*2 in its lighting, and that was apparently removed in Unity 5, so by default, when upgrading a project, it doubles all the intensity values.

    Sounds correct in theory, right?

    But it looks wrong :

    lightintensity.jpg

    And every time I upgrade a project from 4 to 5, I have to go and bring the light values back to their original values.

    I posted this as a bug (Case 806666), but the reply I got from QA was:

    Which makes me think he didn't read my bug submission at all.

    Or maybe I'm missing something?

    EDIT: I *just* got another mail from QA saying they reactivated the bug, so I guess it's all good for now.
     
    MrEsquire likes this.
  2. Peter77

    Peter77

    QA Jesus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    6,627
    The Unity 5.0 upgrade guide has a section regarding this topic. Here is a short snippet:
     
  3. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    11,960
    My whole point is that they shouldn't be doing that.
     
  4. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    29,723
    They shouldn't be multiplying by 2 in shader for absolutely no reason, ever though.
     
  5. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    11,960
    No, they shouldn't.

    But that's not what I'm saying.

    They used to multiply in shader.

    Now they don't.

    And they multiply the actual intensity value when upgrading a project, so the light, in theory, should stay roughly the same.

    But in practice it makes everything very bright.

    Upgrading a project from 4 to 5 makes the intensities of all the values double and then I have go and change them all back.

    So maybe, upgrading from 4 to 5 shouldn't change the light intensities? It's not doing anything positive.

    Or at least I am not seeing the benefit.
     
  6. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    11,960
    All I am saying is that the upgrade process, should NOT double the intensities of the lights.
     
  7. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    29,723
    Yeah it shouldn't. Lights should use lumens or kelvin or whatever's consistent instead. Makes sense for pbs.
     
    AcidArrow likes this.
  8. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    11,960
    Kelvin are for color, not intensity, but yeah, I'd be up for that too.
     
  9. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    29,723
    All I know is Dice uses real world values and I think that's a cool and consistent idea we should have in Unity, specially because while textures and shaders are now physically based, the light is a total guess. So that kind of makes it all quite silly still.
     
  10. AcidArrow

    AcidArrow

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Posts:
    11,960
    Unreal uses Lumens as well. (and Kelvin for color temperature for that matter).
     
  11. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    29,723
    So what is the official conversion multiplier for Unity lights > lumens @Aras @KEngelstoft ?
     
  12. Aurecon_Unity

    Aurecon_Unity

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Posts:
    241
    I'd love to know this as well - one step closer to true IES support.
     
  13. elbows

    elbows

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Posts:
    2,502
    At WWDC Apple detailed that they have added physically based stuff to SceneKit too. On the lighting side they Include lumens, kelvin and IES light profiles. It made so much sense when they laid it all out assuming audience had no prior PBR knowledge.