Search Unity

Question DOTween vs Unity Animations for simple object animations?

Discussion in 'Animation' started by Lutenar, Dec 20, 2022.

1. Lutenar

Lutenar

Hello!

First post here, yay! Just got my hands back on Unity, trying and testing stuff. Kinda 3-weeks-still-a-noob here.
    I was wondering which system to use for relatively basic movements on objects.

My example is a physical button in world (not UI) that you push to trigger something somewhere else. I tried using build-in animation system, works great, but I had to create 2 animation files (push & release) and put an animator component on the gameobject. I then trigger the animation state play when I push the button.

I just tried DOTween and I've got the same result (close enough) using 3 lines of code in my button controller.

What's the best method? Performance-wise, like if in the case I have a lot of buttons?

Do you think of any better solution? I heard of Playables but didn't fiddle with it yet.

Many thanks!!

2. AcidArrow

AcidArrow

DOTween should be much more performant, especially if by "built-in animation system" you mean the animator / playables, which has too much overhead for simple animations.

DaveBars likes this.
  3. unity_I8FaTX-tZFc4lA

unity_I8FaTX-tZFc4lA

Personally, I would not recommend to use DOTween for your animation except if you really, really, really need performance. As a beginner, you should not even think about that till the moment your game start to lag. That being said, DOTween can be use for a variety of thing, not just animation. By exemple, you could use it for movement of a projectile or a camera. You could even use it to feed the animation controller.

Some reason why I would recommend you to use the animator controller:
    • It is easier to work with the animator controller. You do not need to be a developer to be able to create animation. Every Unity user knows the animator controller.