Search Unity

DOTS/ECS as a beginner

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by vonbixler, Sep 1, 2020.

1. vonbixler

vonbixler

Hi all,

Hopefully this is the right forum for this! So as the title says, I'm new to Unity and (mostly) new to programming in general: I've done some website stuff and made some sporadic attempts to learn various programming languages in the past; But basically, I'd say I have a rudimentary understanding of programming but almost no real-world experience. Always thought about getting into game design as a hobby and figured hey, there's no time like the present (especially when the present has a pandemic keeping you home all the time!).

Unity seems like a natural choice for beginners so started reading up and doing some tutorials; In the course of doing so the whole move towards DOTS/ECS came up. From my limited understanding it seems like a great direction to go while learning, particularly as the main argument against using it seems to be that's it's "not what we're used to." Well, as a beginner I'm not used to anything so that's really no barrier to me; But here are my questions:

-There are obviously innumerable resources out there for learning coding, game design, and Unity specifically; However, most coding resources seem heavily slanted towards OOP, and the majority of beginner Unity tutorials are built around the GameObject/Monobehavior paradigm. Is there a point at which leaning too heavily on these kinds of things would actually be counterproductive? In other words, if I know I'd like to use the ECS style down the line, would I be learning coding/design habits that I would just have to unlearn later?