Search Unity

1. Unity Asset Manager is now available in public beta. Try it out now and join the conversation here in the forums.
    Dismiss Notice

Other DOTS Animation Options Wiki

Discussion in 'DOTS Animation' started by lclemens, Sep 21, 2022.

1. lclemens

lclemens

DOTS Animation Options Wiki

If you find yourself here, you're probably getting started with DOTS and trying to figure out how in the *bleep* you're supposed to get animation working since it's one of the top 3 or 4 things people look for in a game engine. And you would be in good company. Every few days someone in forums or on the Turbo Makes Games (TMG) discord drops in and asks the question:

What are my options for animation??

So to increase the speed of answering this question, a few of us decided to make a wiki specifically addressing this topic. I'm far from an animation expert, but I did study the DOTS-animation topic fairly extensively for a few months, so that's worth something. I'll update this list as people make suggestions and comments because there's no doubt that I'll miss some libraries and make mistakes. So without further ado, here are your options... (At the bottom is some help deciding which technique to choose for your application).