Search Unity

Don't jump ship to UE4 unless you're ready/capable of learning the API / C++

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Slyder, Apr 7, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Slyder

Slyder

I started programming with C++ in high school and a small bit in college. I have a Computer Science degree which doesn't really focus on one specific Language.

I've coded stuff in C, C++, C#, Java, Javascript, ADA, Visual Basic, Assembly. I can't even remember all the langues I had to do projects in...and I'm still a crappy programmer at times. I think I do something witty and some other guy slaps me in the face with his more creative way of doing the same thing.

My point is...it has been a VERY VERY long time since I coded in C++ and I have a decent amount of experience coding in general.

It took me over 2 weeks to get situated with UE4, pick C++ back up, and learn the API to a level where I can sort of understand what I'm doing and what needs to be done. I still run into stupid little errors resulting from learning the API.

If you're a complete beginner to programming, just getting into game coding, or ONLY know C#...I estimate that it would take you 1-2 months before you can even expect to code anything in UE4...and that's if you don't get sidetracked by the other non-coding related tools such as Blueprints and level prototyping. I still don't know how to do simple things like Destroy an object properly (It's not as straight forward as calling Destroy() in Unity)

Be real with yourselves before you make the change. You will have better results in Unity as a beginner.

Last edited: Apr 7, 2014
    RavenOfCode likes this.
  2. SmellyDogs

SmellyDogs

Its my humble opinion that c++ is not so different than c# if you work within some library or framework.
    C++ can ofc get pretty crazy but there's not always a reason to do that like writing templates etc.

3. MaxieQ

MaxieQ

Another Unreal thread?