Search Unity

Does Unity3D 2D games HAVE to be sidescrollers?

Discussion in '2D' started by HippaPiffa, Jan 15, 2014.

1. HippaPiffa

HippaPiffa

And if not how would I go about making it a non-sidescroller 2D mmorpg?

2. Eric5h5

Eric5h5

Volunteer Moderator Moderator

Of course not. You can make whatever sort of game you want, by programming it to do the things you want it to do. "Making a 2D MMORPG" is a ludicrously big topic that can't be responded to in a forum post. Probably try something (much) smaller first.

--Eric

3. HippaPiffa

HippaPiffa

I aplogize. I'm really new to all of this. And I'm switching from a small 2D orpg community where I did no coding. So I'm a bit dumb founded atm. Even watching these tuts on the site is making me more and more confused.

Here is where I am now, I just started a new project and I'm trying to learn what is the first step I should do... I suppose I need to create my first component and I'm reading now to what each might do.

I do plan on starting small and working my way up. I just have so much to learn and I wanna learn it so fast haha.

4. Eric5h5

Eric5h5

Volunteer Moderator Moderator

At this point, doing pretty much anything would be helpful, even if it doesn't seem directly related to a 2D MMORPG. Just do some random tutorials and learn stuff. :) Later on you'll get a feel for what you "really" need to focus on.