Search Unity

Does Unity not bake the shadows anymore?

Discussion in 'Global Illumination' started by Deleted User, Oct 1, 2016.

1. Deleted User

Deleted User

I wanted to bake my shadows for my directional light. It used to work in Beast, but this is my first time trying it in Enlighten.

All it ever seems to "bake" is a blurry dark smudge-like area directly below the objects in my scene. I can't tell if it's a shadow, or just some kind of AO, or just a reflection from the dark bottom-side of my objects, reflecting onto the ground below. I have AO turned off.

One thing's for sure, if I angle my directional light, and then bake the scene, those dark smudges are always directly below the objects, even though the angle of the light should have created shadows at an angle (because I angled my light).

I have my general GI set to "directional" lightmaps. All objects in my scene are set to static. Lightmap UV density looks good. I've tried changing every imaginable setting.

I'm starting to think Unity no longer bakes shadows, and only supports real-time shadows. Can anyone confirm?

2. AcidArrow

AcidArrow

That's not true.

I am not sure what it is you're describing though, a picture might help (and a picture of your settings perhaps?)

3. Deleted User

Deleted User

Why is a picture even necessary? It's a blob of darkness right below the object. Doesn't matter what the settings are, I have tried them all. If I sent you a picture of my current settings, you would blame my settings. But I've tested several dozen settings. Been working on this for two days trying settings.

Anyway but here's the pictures nonetheless:

This is with realtime shadows (cleared the GI cache):

And here it is baked:

Notice the smudge below the tree. Notice it isn't at an angle, even though the light is at an angle.