Search Unity

Does Unity 5 support multiple people developing a game at once?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Valkronos, May 2, 2015.

  1. Valkronos

    Valkronos

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Posts:
    15
    Or at least, how would you share the game?

    I'm developing a game with a partner, but I'm not sure how I can get it on his computer, or get us in there at the same time. So does Unity support multiple people developing at once? How would you do it? How would you share it? Any other information on this topic would be appreciated as well.

    Thank you.
     
  2. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    27,566
    Version control or asset server.
     
  3. Valkronos

    Valkronos

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Posts:
    15
    How would I use these?
     
  4. Eric5h5

    Eric5h5

    Volunteer Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Posts:
    32,307
  5. Valkronos

    Valkronos

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Posts:
    15
  6. Eric5h5

    Eric5h5

    Volunteer Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Posts:
    32,307
  7. Valkronos

    Valkronos

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Posts:
    15
  8. der_r

    der_r

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Posts:
    259
  9. Ostwind

    Ostwind

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Posts:
    2,806
  10. elmar1028

    elmar1028

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Posts:
    2,347
    Asset Server requires pro version while version control is a third party app so there might be costs.

    I would recommend BitBucket and SourceTree combination. While setting up your project for the first time, you'd better make a backup in case something goes wrong.
     
  11. darkhog

    darkhog

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Posts:
    2,219
    SourceTree? Meh. TortoiseGIT is so much better and it integrate with the explorer.
     
  12. elmar1028

    elmar1028

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Posts:
    2,347
    Dunno lol. SourceTree worked out pretty well for me :p
    Will try TortoiseGIT for my next project!
     
    der_r likes this.
  13. darkhog

    darkhog

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Posts:
    2,219
    It's great, because you don't have to open separate program, it's all in right-click menu of the explorer. Not sure if there is mac version.
     
  14. elmar1028

    elmar1028

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Posts:
    2,347
    That sounds great.
    Ignoring the fact that it has "GIT" in it, does it support Mercurial? :p
     
  15. der_r

    der_r

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Posts:
    259
    Visual Studio Code has GIT built right into it. Unfortunately it doesn't work with BitBucket just yet. :-( I'm using SourceTree to push the project to the server and VSCode to do my commits locally.
     
unityunity