Search Unity

Does my code look okay? Basic spawner script.

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by giraffe1, Jul 24, 2020.

1. giraffe1

giraffe1

This is my first time exploring ECS/DOTS. I am NOT a programmer so I not too sure on this stuff.

Can anyone comment on my code? It seems to run and not log any errors. But I am not sure if I am laying out everything efficiently. Is there any improvements I should make?

I couldn't find any examples/docs on good practices when it comes to using burst with a Entities.ForEach job as appose to IJobChuck. Is it okay to use burst with Entities.ForEach? I will eventually learn how to use IJobChuck but for learning purposes I want to do it later once I am more comfortable with this new way to coding.

Another question is about public Entity prefab; in SpawnerData.cs. Is Entity considered as a value type or reference type? Is it considered blittable?

Thanks for your help!

Code (CSharp):
    1. public struct SpawnerData : IComponentData
    2. {
    3.     public Entity prefab;
    4.     public int count;
    5.     public float rate;      // Spawn rate
    6.     public float delay;     // Time delay before the first spawn
    7.     public float next;      // Time until the next spawn
    8. }

Code (CSharp):
    1. public class SpawnerAuthoring : MonoBehaviour, IConvertGameObjectToEntity
    2. {
    3.     public GameObject prefab;
    4.     public int count = 10;
    5.     public float rate = 1f;
    6.     public float delay = 2f;
    7.     private float next = 0f;
    9.     public void Convert(Entity entity, EntityManager dstManager, GameObjectConversionSystem conversionSystem)
    10.     {
    11.         SpawnerData data = new SpawnerData();
    13.         var conversionSetting = GameObjectConversionSettings.FromWorld(dstManager.World, conversionSystem.BlobAssetStore);
    14.         data.prefab = GameObjectConversionUtility.ConvertGameObjectHierarchy(prefab, conversionSetting);