Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Does DOTS need a Database?

Discussion in 'Data Oriented Technology Stack' started by Arowx, Jun 22, 2019.

  1. Arowx

    Arowx

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Posts:
    7,063
    DOTS is so focused on moving data around your game systems that it seems to forget that sometimes you need to store that data until it is needed...

    In regular computing you would store your data in files or if you are dealing with lots of data entities of different data types then you would have a database.

    It seems so obvious as a DOTS solution to have a database of Entity data, has this even been considered or are we stuck with prefabs, code driven creation, scriptable assets, writing our own files?
     
  2. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    5,157
    Subject been already discussed.
    ECS is perfectly fine, to filter desired queries.
     
  3. Arowx

    Arowx

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Posts:
    7,063
    What about larger worlds or more complex simulations e.g. a city or country.
     
  4. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    5,157
    Your case study to investigate is, how DB like SQL is built, works and how it returns quires. Based on you findings, you can question, weather is possible do it in DOD.
     
  5. Arowx

    Arowx

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Posts:
    7,063
    The things is most game worlds will be 2d or 3d spaces and therefore need data sets and a database system that can query those spaces fast and efficiently. Therefore I suspect that classical databases might not be the ideal solution to the game/simulation domain we work within.
     
  6. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    5,157
    That why you use spatial mapping you know?
     
  7. starikcetin

    starikcetin

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2017
    Posts:
    224
    I don't understand the question here. If you need a database, you can easily use one.