Search Unity

Question Does Android Support Unity 5.6.7f1?

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Julydevelopergame, Feb 8, 2024.

  1. Julydevelopergame

    Julydevelopergame

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2023
    Posts:
    63
    hey unity. can i make android on unity 5.6.7f1? does unity 5 stopped supporting android? yes or no? do i require android sdk and jdk?
     
  2. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,705
    You may still use 5.6.7 to build 32bit Android apps.

    Presently Google Play requires 64bit Android apps.
     
    CodeRonnie likes this.
  3. Julydevelopergame

    Julydevelopergame

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2023
    Posts:
    63
    ohhh ok but does it require android sdk? and jdk?
     
  4. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,705
    Yes. It requires whatever was supported back then for this build of Unity. Check the release notes. It might work with other versions of SDK / JDK if you feel like experimenting.
     
  5. Julydevelopergame

    Julydevelopergame

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2023
    Posts:
    63
    ok
     
  6. CodeSmile

    CodeSmile

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Posts:
    5,905
    Neat way of saying "No". :D
     
    bugfinders likes this.
  7. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,705
    I would have agreed a few years back but I think ... I think you actually CAN still deliver a 32-bit Android app if you only target the wearables form factor, or perhaps the Android TV form factor.

    But those are probably soon gonna require 64bit too.

    ALSO: you can always side-load your 32-bit apps or upload them to itch or SideQuest for instance...
     
  8. bugfinders

    bugfinders

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2018
    Posts:
    1,749
    part of me wonders why you;d want to use such an old version of unity
     
  9. Julydevelopergame

    Julydevelopergame

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2023
    Posts:
    63
    because the splash screen awesome. so yeah.
     
  10. Kurt-Dekker

    Kurt-Dekker

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Posts:
    38,705
    Because it boots in about one second.

    There is no 30 seconds of Unity Hub lag.

    There is no hub to just suddenly stop responding.

    And MonoDevelop comes up in less than a half second.

    There is also no such thing as Domain Reload (EVER!).

    There's no Package Mangler to become confused and add deprecated Advertising to your project which you then have to discover, revert, and then rebuild your binary as you do in Unity2018 and onward.

    Not only that but it just about never ever ever EVER crashes unless YOU crash it with a infinite loop.

    People forget how incredibly blindingly fast Unity used to be just a few short years ago.
     
    Ruslank100, Tomas1856 and bugfinders like this.
  11. CodeSmile

    CodeSmile

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Posts:
    5,905
    For historical reasons? Nostalgia?

    I mean there are still C64 games being made and such, so why not still make games with Unity 5? ;)
     
  12. Julydevelopergame

    Julydevelopergame

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2023
    Posts:
    63
    I dont know. i mean unity 5 stopped updating for best 5-4 years in Feb 28th 2019-March 4th 2019 or whatever you call it. and also unity stopped supporting android so yeah now there is android support on Unity 2019 or Unity 2020. but i found the android game still made with unity 5.