Search Unity

Does a professional need Visual Scripting

Discussion in 'Visual Scripting' started by mfatihbarut, Mar 16, 2021.

1. mfatihbarut

mfatihbarut

Hi all,
    I am a programmer (20 years now)
    I like coding and I am free enough to write the code I need.
    However, still, the colors and styles of visual scripting are alluring to me. Is there any logical reason for me to still learn visual scripting and using it?

2. If you do it cleverly, you can use this system to develop state machines quickly. The performance will still be abysmal, comparing to handmade code though...

3. PanthenEye

PanthenEye

For a coder Bolt state machines are not that useful - you can't custom code a state. You can only use reflection to access your existing C# script code or custom code Bolt nodes, but current Bolt node API isn't documented and is being phased out and replaced with something else they have in the works. Bolt also doesn't know which state is currently active since you can nest Bolt states infinitely or have multiple states active at the same time by marking multiple states as Start states.

In general though, visual scripting is very useful for one-off logic like scripting level design related stuff - doors, traps, various triggers that are unique to the level. Or for adventure games where intractable hotspots have bespoke requirements, triggers, dialogue, etc. ie VS is great for scripting high level logic fast, great for visualizing AI and for organizing your C# code into a visual flow, for example, having a visual state machine for your user interface.

So it highly depends on the kind of game you're making - if it has bespoke logic that does not repeat elsewhere in the game or if you want to visualize complex AI, UI, etc flows.

mfatihbarut likes this.
  4. sdebaun_unity

sdebaun_unity