Search Unity

TextMesh Pro Docs/SDFAA_HINTED?

Discussion in 'UGUI & TextMesh Pro' started by andyz, Apr 5, 2019.

1. andyz

andyz

2. Vee_Oh

Vee_Oh

Hey Andyz,

I am no expert, but as far as I know you have the following "Modes" when it comes to TMP.

SDF(Vector), Smooth(Raster) and Bitmap(Raster)
    • There is the SDF(Signed Distance Field) mode. This is essentially a vector representation of the font data that allows you to zoom in, and it will still look crisp, because it is rendered continuously as you zoom in/out, and uses math to describe the shape.
    • Then there is the Bitmap(Raster) mode, which basically renders the font like a normal sprite or texture. So obviously it will be pixelated when you zoom in. Both the Smooth and Raster options are in fact Rasterized.
    Anti-Aliasing (AA)
    The Raster fonts are not anti-aliased and will appear jagged, and the Smooth is Anti-Aliased and will appear smooth.
    SDF does not really need AA since it is a vector shape, and the anti-aliasing is 'built in' due to the greyscale map it uses to render the font.
    • Due to the nature of a Signed Distance Field you can do all the cool things like softening edges, giving it outlines etc. since the data is just a mathematical representation of the shape of the font, based on a signed(+ or -) distance from a center vector line.
    • The Raster fonts don't have these cool features, and are basically just sprites,described by a certain amount of pixels, based on the font atlas you created for them.

Hinted & Unhinted
    Both the Raster and Smooth have Hinted versions and Unhinted versions.
    • Hinting will line up 'important' parts of glyphs better with the pixel grid to make certain parts appear less pixelated (Usually Ascenders and Descenders, Serif parts of Serif fonts etc.) because it will sit directly on the pixel grid.