Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

Do you make your PC games 64bit?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by yoonitee, Oct 28, 2018.

  1. yoonitee

    yoonitee

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,284
    I've always stuck with the 32 bit compiler. But do you think most people have 64bit Windows now?
     
  2. ShilohGames

    ShilohGames

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Posts:
    2,835
    I always compile for 64 bit. The games I am most interested in making need a decent gaming computer to run well, and I assume all of those computers are running 64 bit. If I was making a small, simple game that did not need a modern gaming rig to run, I might consider compiling for 32 bit.
     
  3. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    7,361
    Perhaps I would consider 32 bit compilation, if there will be interested audience for that.
    But if you have no issue with compiling to 32 and 64, just make both.

    Not sure if there are any significant consequences, of trying maintaining multiple versions, other than time.
     
  4. passerbycmc

    passerbycmc

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2015
    Posts:
    1,479
    Always 64bit, you don't get access to much ram on 32bit
     
  5. AndersMalmgren

    AndersMalmgren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Posts:
    5,406
    64 bits, even SteamVR defaults to it if you let it
     
  6. QFSW

    QFSW

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Posts:
    2,783
    Am I the only on here who builds to both?
     
  7. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    7,361
    Doubt you are only one.
    But if game requires near, or more than 2GB memory, 32 is not a really an option anymore.
     
  8. Murgilod

    Murgilod

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Posts:
    7,163
    I only build to 64 bit. People on 32 bit computers who would also be interested in the games I make are small enough a group of people that it doesn't make sense for me to try and maintain two separate builds for what is essentially the same platform.
     
  9. vakabaka

    vakabaka

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Posts:
    1,154
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2018
  10. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    7,361
    You are likely able to run application with 32 bits on 64 bits hardware.
    But not vice versa.
     
  11. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    26,726
    Nobody capable of running my game smoothly will ever be on a 32 bit OS. There is only support for it for business purposes in the general developer community.

    I imagine Unity is keen to remove 32 bit as well but haven't for now.
     
  12. AndersMalmgren

    AndersMalmgren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Posts:
    5,406
    No one in the west runs 32 bit anymore
     
    Joe-Censored likes this.
  13. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    7,361
    However East is still packed with 32 bit machines, on consumer level. So there is a market for it, However is shrinking.

    I wouldn't be surprised. But I suppose no sooner than few years time, when Unity telemetry will indicate, that 32 bit machines are marginal.
     
  14. AndersMalmgren

    AndersMalmgren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Posts:
    5,406
    East is a big market for us, sadly the prices are very low in those regions, have to tell 3 games to make the same money
     
  15. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    7,361
    Mostly game cost the same after currency exchange.

    But I know ads prices per impression / click are fluctuating greatly from region to region.
    Still, that is high volume of potential customers.
     
  16. Murgilod

    Murgilod

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Posts:
    7,163
    Completely untrue, especially in a lot of Asia and Eastern Europe.
     
  17. AndersMalmgren

    AndersMalmgren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Posts:
    5,406
    Nah, steam has recommended prices that are calculated on salary levels and what not
     
  18. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    7,361
    Thats very humble.
    Recommendation is one thing, pricing is other thing.
    Just haven't seen happening.
    Actually recently there was some case, where in Russia price was actually higher. Don't remember which game was that.

    Imagine you set lower price in some countries.
    East Europe for example 4-5 times lower salary, than Western Europe.

    Now you will have bunch of people buying keys etc, for fraction of the price and selling them for profit in countries with higher price for 3-4 times buy cost, which will be still lower than yours anyway.

    Easily done using proxy / VPN if needed.

    So you as seller, would be loosing.

    Or otherwise, please explain me, where my logic is broken.
     
  19. AndersMalmgren

    AndersMalmgren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Posts:
    5,406
    There is a tool you can install that let you see all prices in different currencies, most Devs use the Steams recommended prices, we do too. Except for russia
     
  20. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    7,361
    But I am sure you are aware, that steam is not only one selling platform.
     
  21. AndersMalmgren

    AndersMalmgren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Posts:
    5,406
    If you target PC it's your only one
     
  22. Murgilod

    Murgilod

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Posts:
    7,163
    The reason you can't gift games internationally easily anymore is because Valve started to crack down on people doing region gifting, where they'd send money to websites to buy gift versions of games from countries like Russia because they were up to 50% cheaper on average there.
     
    passerbycmc and hippocoder like this.
  23. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    7,361
    It wouldn't be fair to say, that steam concludes general pricing practices across the globe.
    I would be interested in pricing practices comparison of Playstation, XBox, mobile, PS, and other platforms as well, along with Steam, if anyone has expertise to share?
     
  24. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    7,361
    Thats fair enough. This which was making me thing, Steam system is not ideal. So they got some counter measures.
    But that only steam among other platforms (see my previous post).
     
  25. Murgilod

    Murgilod

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Posts:
    7,163
    It is roughly equal across the board.
     
  26. Socrates

    Socrates

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    748
    For a good read on Steam's regional pricing and how many developers don't even realize what Steam is doing or feel they have too little control of what Steam does, see this Polygon article. You can skip the first section about reviews by searching for "regional pricing".
     
  27. Kiwasi

    Kiwasi

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Posts:
    16,732
    It happens all the time here in Australia. All of the game sellers do it. Australians pay more for digital goods then is justified by the differences in currencies, taxes and shipping.
     
  28. Murgilod

    Murgilod

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Posts:
    7,163
    The latter makes things especially strange considering, you know, digital distribution.

    Australians have it bad enough with their terrible internet already.
     
    Kiwasi likes this.
  29. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    7,361
    Thx guys, that is interesting, even we did astray quite a bit from main topic.
     
  30. AndersMalmgren

    AndersMalmgren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Posts:
    5,406
    We just added AUD in our game as its now required by Steam (Didnt even know we didnt have AUD). You can be happy to know the AUD price is the US price just currency converted. I double checked it with google currency converter.
     
  31. Joe-Censored

    Joe-Censored

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Posts:
    8,953
    Any gaming computer built with an OS later than Windows XP should have used a 64 bit OS, and Unity dropped Windows XP support. So I don't see the point in 32 bit unless your game targets very old or very low end hardware.
     
  32. Ryiah

    Ryiah

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    16,132
    This. Memory is one of the first things people think of but if you think about it the first 64-bit chips came out way before we reached the point that 4GB was commonplace. The Athlon 64 is fifteen years old now. Chances are you're going to run into a performance bottleneck before you run into the memory limit.
     
    hippocoder likes this.
  33. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    7,361
    A bit contrary, shall we ask Unity team, for supporting 8 bit builds ;)
     
    Lurking-Ninja and Joe-Censored like this.
  34. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    26,726
    Not far off. Unity for small things is ECS only and very tight. There's no small things left with 32 bit hardware coming out though so it'll probably just be 64 bit.
     
    Antypodish likes this.
  35. Arowx

    Arowx

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Posts:
    7,524
  36. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    7,361
  37. Ryiah

    Ryiah

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    16,132
    Click the row. :p
     
    Joe-Censored, Antypodish and Kiwasi like this.
  38. Kiwasi

    Kiwasi

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Posts:
    16,732
    Click on OS version to expand it out to this. If you add up all of the 64-bit versions, you should come to the same number.

    upload_2018-11-1_8-27-24.png

    Edit: Sniped!
     
    Antypodish likes this.
  39. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    7,361
    Lol, thx
    Well, I am blind (or should click it), but that's normal :D
    At least my math works ;)
     
  40. Arowx

    Arowx

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Posts:
    7,524
    8 bit ECS 8 times the throughput!
     
    Joe-Censored and Antypodish like this.
unityunity