Search Unity

  1. Unity 2018.3 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We've updated our Terms of Service. Please read our blog post from Unity CTO and Co-Founder Joachim Ante here
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Want to provide direct feedback to the Unity team? Join the Unity Advisory Panel.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice

Do not upgrade to iOS 5.1 when still developing under Snow Leopard

Discussion in 'iOS and tvOS' started by efge, Mar 8, 2012.

  1. efge

    efge

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Posts:
    55
    As the iOS 5.1 SDK comes with XCode 4.3.1 you have to upgrade to OS X Lion.
    (XCode 4.3.1 requires OS X 10.7.3)

    If you do not want to upgrade to Lion stay with iOS 5.0.1.
     
  2. tonyd

    tonyd

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Posts:
    1,224
    Well that is disappointing.

    Does Unity play nice with Lion?
     
  3. Ostwind

    Ostwind

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Posts:
    2,711
    I think you are forced to update soon because of the new iPad (in case its not manually possible to mess with the project to follow the new guidelines).
     
  4. CoatlGames

    CoatlGames

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    773
    yes it plays nice with lion , i have it since it came out , no problems at all

    and the install of lion its very easy and quick if you come from snow leopard

    so dont worry
     
  5. hippocoder

    hippocoder

    Digital Ape Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    24,177
    Rather wouldn't have to get lion just yet. It's nothing to do with price, I just loathe to move os without being forced, specially when the development environment is working. If it aint broke, don't fix it etc...
     
  6. Yorick2

    Yorick2

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Posts:
    297
    Thanks for the heads-up!
     
  7. cheezorg

    cheezorg

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Posts:
    389
    Agreed.
     
  8. MariuszKowalczyk

    MariuszKowalczyk

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Posts:
    244
    Man... I just upgraded my iPhone 4 to the iOS 5.1 I don't know why I did this. The biggest mistake of my life. Is there any way to restore the previous version?
     
  9. MariuszKowalczyk

    MariuszKowalczyk

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Posts:
    244
    This is ridiculous. After the update my iPhone 4 is pretty much useless.

    The version of iOS on “iPhone (Mariusz Kowalczyk)” does not match any of the versions of iOS supported for development with this installation of the iOS SDK. Please restore the device to a version of the OS listed below, or update to the latest version of the iOS SDK; which is available here.


    It means there is a way to restore the previous version without jailbreak?


    EDIT:
    Here is a solution: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/9614918/xcode-4-2-snow-leopard-and-ios-5-1

    It is working!!! Now I can use Xcode 4.2 and test on iOS 5.1 :)

    You have to do this:
    1. Download this: http://adcdownload.apple.com/Developer_Tools/xcode_4.3.1_for_lion/xcode_4.3.1_for_lion.dmg
    2. Open the Xcode.app from that package (mount the dmg then Right click and Show Package Contents).
    3. Copy /Volumes/Xcode/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Platforms/iPhoneOS.platform/DeviceSupport/5.1 (9B176) to /Developer/Platforms/iPhoneOS.platform/DeviceSupport
    4. Copy /Volumes/Xcode/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Platforms/iPhoneOS.platform/Developer/SDKs/iPhoneOS5.1.sdk to /Developer/Platforms/iPhoneOS.platform/Developer/SDKs
    5. Copy /Volumes/Xcode/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Platforms/iPhoneOS.platform/version.plist to /Developer/Platforms/iPhoneOS.platform
    6. Restart XCode and reconnect the device.

    You should probably also change the "Latest" shortcut here: /Developer/Platforms/iPhoneOS.platform/DeviceSupport it should point to /Developer/Platforms/iPhoneOS.platform/DeviceSupport/5.1 (9B176)
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2012
  10. renman3000

    renman3000

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Posts:
    6,422
    Is there anyway to re get that link for XCode 4.3.0?? This one is dead.
     
  11. Eric5h5

    Eric5h5

    Volunteer Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Posts:
    31,919
    It works fine. You need to be a registered developer, and be logged in.

    --Eric
     
  12. renman3000

    renman3000

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Posts:
    6,422
    Ok thanks.


    This was the message I saw.
    Your session has expired.

    Please return to the ADC Member Site and attempt to download the file again.

    If you feel you received this message in error, please reference this code when contacting the ADC Support Team: V6



    The link took me there. Am downloading now.
    I am praying that Lion, iOS5.1 and XCode4.3.0 work together. PUhLLEEAZE. Its been 3 days already.
     
  13. AaronC

    AaronC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    3,521
    Thanks so much, I'm back in the game now.

    AC
     
  14. jairobbo

    jairobbo

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1
    When I change the "Latest" shortcut, it changes the target to My Mac 64 bit.
    Any ideas on that?
     
  15. ezdtech

    ezdtech

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Posts:
    2
    Any news for those developing, on Lion, with a test device using 5.1 iOS and Unity 3.5???

    Damn we're stuck!
     
  16. macdude2

    macdude2

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Posts:
    683
    I was able to get unity 3.5 working on Lion. Make sure you have the latest version of lion: OS 10.7.3. If not, just download it from the software update app. Once you do this, you need to update Xcode from the Mac App store. Once you have everything updated, it works pretty flawlessly. I do not know if mountain lion works with this version of Xcode though.
     
  17. renman3000

    renman3000

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Posts:
    6,422
    Why is this happening again??
    XCode is not cooperating.

    A few days ago I solved the constant crash in XCode saying that I could not remove my splash screen, with Unity Basic. The solution?...
    iOS 5.1
    Unity 3.5
    XCode 4.3.0

    But today XCode decided that iOS 5.1 was to high of an iOS. I read that now, 4.3.1 XCode was the solution. Well it is back to square one. Please tell me Unity3.5.1 will solve this AND it will be released soon.



    :::((
     
  18. KarelA

    KarelA

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Posts:
    411
    @ Mariusz Kowalczyk

    Thanks a million. I accidentally downloaded ios 5.1 and this fix helped me to continue making builds with xcode 4.2
     
  19. jesusluvsyooh

    jesusluvsyooh

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Posts:
    338
    works ;)

    Edit: just thought i'd say thank you as well XD only other option was to wait till another update came out to fix this, but that could've been months.
     
  20. antonbursch

    antonbursch

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Posts:
    39
    I upgraded from leopard to lion on my mac and that fixed my problems with iOS 5.1, but now neither I nor nobody on my team can connect to the asset server (which is also on this mac).
     
  21. CrazyEoin

    CrazyEoin

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Posts:
    51
    @ Mariusz Kowalczyk

    Thanks for this, really saved my bacon :D
     
  22. bugzilla

    bugzilla

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Posts:
    191
    I, unfortunately, was overzealous and upgraded by iPad as well as Xcode before seeing this. Yes, I know I reap what I sow, but Xcode is not the problem. My Xcode only projects are OK. Any idea when Unity is going to release a patch? I've contacted them but no ETA. Just trying to get the word out.
     
  23. AXXE78

    AXXE78

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Posts:
    74
    Thank you very much, Mariusz! It worked just fine
     
  24. cjow

    cjow

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Posts:
    132
    Mine also does this consistently and seemingly at random. Then I come back the next day and it's magically fixed itself. Getting pretty tired of it to be honest and wish they would just hurry up and fixed the bugs hindering Xcode 4.3.1 and iOS 5.1
     
  25. renman3000

    renman3000

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Posts:
    6,422
    I can not do step 2. I have no such option.




    When is this going to be fixed UNITY!!!!???
     
  26. Profas

    Profas

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Posts:
    73
    It will be fixed in Unity 3.5.1f2.
     
  27. renman3000

    renman3000

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Posts:
    6,422
    Do you or anyone know when to expect the release?
     
  28. bugzilla

    bugzilla

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Posts:
    191
    Has anyone had trouble running Unity Remote on the new IOS?
     
  29. BooBi

    BooBi

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Posts:
    528
  30. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,850
    Hi,
    we have beta quality build for closed group testing. This build includes Xcode 4.3.x/iOS 5.1/iPad3 fixes and improved support. Please PM me if you want to get this beta build ahead of time.
     
  31. jrDev

    jrDev

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,606
    Was having so much problems with Unity and Lion OS so I reverted back to Snow Leopard. Dunno if Unity fixed any issues with Lion yet.

    Anyways, I am also getting this message from Xcode after updating my iPhone 4 to 5.1 and that ADC link doesnt work plus I am logged in to the Dev Portal when I click the steps link.
     
  32. iphoneDeveloper

    iphoneDeveloper

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Posts:
    13
    i have Xcode 4.4.1
    ios 5.1.1 and Mountain Lion OS and unity 3.5

    i cant run my project in ipad or any other devices not even in simulators .. it shows some LLVM 4.0 error ..

    Command /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Toolchains/XcodeDefault.xctoolchain/usr/bin/clang failed with exit code 1

    can you all please help what the solution can be ?
    reply as soon as possible ..

    thanx
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2012
  33. Mantas-Puida

    Mantas-Puida

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,850
    It should just work. Try cleaning Xcode derived data and replacing your Unity Xcode project from scratch.