Search Unity

  1. Unity Asset Manager is now available in public beta. Try it out now and join the conversation here in the forums.
    Dismiss Notice

DLSS options not showing

Discussion in 'HDRP Ray Tracing' started by Mullan7, May 24, 2021.

  1. Mullan7

    Mullan7

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    79
    I'm trying to enable DLSS in my HDRP project with the latest alpha. According to the documentation, DLSS options should show up under the HDRP asset and the camera settings once the Nvidia package is installed. In my project the Nvidia package is already there and enabled, but no sign of DLSS options. What have I missed?
     
  2. m0nsky

    m0nsky

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    Posts:
    257
    What version of HDRP are you using? DLSS support was merged into HDRP master 18 days ago and the a17 HDRP package was released 15 days ago. You might need to update your HDRP version or get the latest version from github. I've posted a DLSS boilerplate project over here in case you can't get it to work. You can copy the packages folder to your own project if you're having issues with github and/or the package manager.
     
    Mullan7 likes this.
  3. chap-unity

    chap-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2019
    Posts:
    766
    Yup the C# part of DLSS is not in the HDRP embbeded in a18

    You'll need to edit your Package/manifest.json file to use latest HDRP master to be able to use it.

    For reference this is what you are supposed to see in your HDRP asset if DLSS is available.

    upload_2021-5-25_11-52-5.png
     
    Lex4art, Mullan7 and m0nsky like this.
  4. Mullan7

    Mullan7

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    79
    It's working great, good performance improvement. Thanks!
     
  5. Yanus3D

    Yanus3D

    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Posts:
    490
    chap-unity can you show small procedures how to do it...I am amateur in that kind of procedures ;)
     
  6. chap-unity

    chap-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2019
    Posts:
    766
    Sure, I don't know where you start so, I'll start from the beginning.
    First you need to clone the Graphics repository on your machine.
    Then Checkout the branch called 'master'

    Then, close your Unity project and open the file in your project located in Packages/manifest.json with a text editor.

    Find this line
    Code (CSharp):
    1. "com.unity.render-pipelines.high-definition": "12.0.0",
    And replace it with those 5 lines pointing where you located your repository
    Code (CSharp):
    1.  
    2. "com.unity.render-pipelines.core": "file:C:/Graphics/com.unity.render-pipelines.core",
    3. "com.unity.render-pipelines.high-definition": "file:C:/Graphics/com.unity.render-pipelines.high-definition",
    4. "com.unity.render-pipelines.high-definition-config": "file:C:/Graphics/com.unity.render-pipelines.high-definition-config",
    5. "com.unity.shadergraph": "file:C:/Graphics/com.unity.shadergraph",
    6. "com.unity.visualeffectgraph": "file:C:/Graphics/com.unity.visualeffectgraph",
    7.  
    You can also use a relative path like this if you prefer.. etc
    Code (CSharp):
    1. "file:../../Graphics/com.unity.render-pipelines.core",
    Then re-open your Unity project and voilà.
    Usually this branch works best with latest alpha version, so expect some breakage if you are using older version of the engine.
     
    ObiOneStenobi likes this.
  7. Yanus3D

    Yanus3D

    Joined:
    May 6, 2019
    Posts:
    490
    chap-unity too complicate for me haha....I will wait for next alpha.
     
  8. chap-unity

    chap-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2019
    Posts:
    766
    As a side note, the embedded HDRP version is not systematically updated at each new alpha, so can't guarantee that it's going to be present in next 2021.2.0a21.
    The update is only done when HDRP is in a good state, for now it's roughly once per month and last update was 2021.2.0a17
     
    ObiOneStenobi likes this.
  9. phil-harvey

    phil-harvey

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Posts:
    75
    So is not currently in the latest alpha, hopefully in a couple more.
     
  10. newguy123

    newguy123

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Posts:
    1,248
    Hmmm did this, but cant see anything related to NVidia or DLSS......
     
    Mario_LS likes this.
  11. phil-harvey

    phil-harvey

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Posts:
    75
    Is this now in the new Beta?
     
  12. chap-unity

    chap-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2019
    Posts:
    766
    Yes, it's available in the latest 2021.2.0b1.
     
    ShiftedClock and newguy123 like this.
  13. phil-harvey

    phil-harvey

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Posts:
    75
    Where is the setting? I can't find it.
     
  14. crashTX

    crashTX

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Posts:
    16
  15. phil-harvey

    phil-harvey

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Posts:
    75
  16. chap-unity

    chap-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2019
    Posts:
    766
    This just means Unity failed to initialize DLSS and it can be caused by a coupled of reasons. You could be trying to use an incompatible GPU (think of defaulting on the intel GPU if you're running a laptop for exemple) or even running RenderDoc can prevent DLSS from initializing properly.

    You can go to Window > Analysis > Rendering Debugger and then on the Rendering tab you should be able to have more info on Nvidia device debug view on what's causing the issue.
     
  17. phil-harvey

    phil-harvey

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Posts:
    75
    upload_2021-6-28_10-53-42.png

    Yeah something is up, it runs normally ok, with Ray Tracing, but the plugin is not there.

    I have a Razer laptop with a 2080
     
  18. phil-harvey

    phil-harvey

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Posts:
    75
    Any idea how I can get the plugin to show up? I checked the settings and it is running Unity with the 2080 and not the intel video card.
     
  19. Dream_Wood

    Dream_Wood

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    2060 Super not support
     
  20. Lex4art

    Lex4art

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Posts:
    445
    Try to run "Play" mode once - my RTX 2080Ti often shows that it's not supported but after entering play mode it's working and those warnings disappears...
     
  21. ysundawa

    ysundawa

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2020
    Posts:
    33

    Hi can I get a clue on how to do this testing on player's PC? Sorry for a noob question. ..Because we don't know what kind of GPU the player will use.... how can we detect of DLSS option is available for them?
     
  22. chap-unity

    chap-unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2019
    Posts:
    766
    Not a noob question at all, you should be able to read this info from this static variable once the pipeline is initialized.
    Code (CSharp):
    1. HDDynamicResolutionPlatformCapabilities.DLSSDetected
    Here's the scripting api doc about it.
     
  23. ysundawa

    ysundawa

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2020
    Posts:
    33
    Loud and clear !
    Thanks a lot.
     
    chap-unity likes this.
  24. TeorikDeli

    TeorikDeli

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Posts:
    150
    This always returns false on 30 series in Unity 2021.2.15 & DX11 =/ Tested on 3080 Ti, 3070, 3060 Mobile. 2080 Super and 2080 Super Mobile returns true. DLSS, of course, doesn't work on 30 series. We also tried Studio drivers but no luck. Am I missing something? Nvidia drivers are all latest.
     
  25. Remy_Unity

    Remy_Unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Posts:
    703
    Hello,
    I did just test with unity 2021.2.15 / DX11, on a laptop with a 3050 Ti, and this function returns
    true
    as expected.
     
  26. TeorikDeli

    TeorikDeli

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Posts:
    150
    Thank you for the fast reply! Interesting =/ What could cause this? As I said earlier, everything works well on 20 series for the same project.
     
  27. Remy_Unity

    Remy_Unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Posts:
    703
    Right now I have no idea what is causing the issue. We need to find someone internally that is able to reproduce the problem and investigate, we can't just do it when "it works"
     
    TeorikDeli likes this.
  28. TeorikDeli

    TeorikDeli

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Posts:
    150
    I submitted a bug report about the problem (1413202).
     
  29. Wawruch2

    Wawruch2

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Posts:
    68
    Hey @TeorikDeli have you resolved the issue? I have the same problem in 2022.1.3f1, tried different drivers but it always returns false on RTX 3070.

    I managed to make a workaround with -> SystemInfo.graphicsDeviceName.Contains("RTX") but that's a "dirty" solution
     
  30. TeorikDeli

    TeorikDeli

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Posts:
    150
    Hii! I actually couldn't test it yet; but I think I will have time this weekend to test what Unity suggested to me (using old drivers) in the fogbugz. By the way, what language (or locale settings) do you use on your OS? I am asking this, because Unity usually have some troubles while using the OS in non-English languages -for example- like in Turkish or locale settings as Turkish (date & time). If Unity can't reproduce this, I am suspecting that this kinda thing could be the problem. We had sooo many problems, so I am always using English, but sometimes the date & time settings can be the problem (we couldn't build for Android for a while on Windows, for example), or GraphViews had many problems (centered texts, ports, etc), especially in Windows.
     
  31. ASIM-SENYUVA

    ASIM-SENYUVA

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Posts:
    90
    Same Problem Here!,

    I am using NVIDIA RTX 2080 ( 2 graphic cards with SLI)

    When activating DLSS on Unity3d, its says
    Unity can not detect NVIDIA DLSS.
    upload_2022-7-21_17-51-8.png

    upload_2022-7-21_17-51-49.png

    HDDynamicResolutionPlatformCapabilities.DLSSDetected return false


    I also update my graphic card and tested it without SLI. everytime it says no DLSS.
    on the other hand nvidia says all RTX cards support DLSS, I tested my other laptop
    with Nvidia 3050 TI. its works there.
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2022
  32. ASIM-SENYUVA

    ASIM-SENYUVA

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Posts:
    90
    Rendering debugger says,
    Device Creation Failed,

    upload_2022-7-21_17-55-10.png
     
  33. ASIM-SENYUVA

    ASIM-SENYUVA

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Posts:
    90
    I wrote below code for understanding whats happen inside,
    Unity3D Editor can not detect my graphic device and its return null.
    I think problem start here.

    Code (CSharp):
    1.    
    2. if (NVUnityPlugin.Load())
    3.         {
    4.             Debug.Log("NVIDIA Plugin Loaded");
    5.  
    6.             if (NVUnityPlugin.IsLoaded())
    7.             {
    8.                
    9.             }
    10.         }
    upload_2022-7-21_22-33-53.png
     
  34. ASIM-SENYUVA

    ASIM-SENYUVA

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Posts:
    90
    After A few tests, I saw something in NVIDIA device debug window. but the problem still continues.

    upload_2022-7-21_23-48-12.png

    Outputs :
    upload_2022-7-21_23-48-25.png


    RenderDoc
    upload_2022-7-21_23-48-55.png
     
  35. ASIM-SENYUVA

    ASIM-SENYUVA

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Posts:
    90
    I solved the problem by removing the Turkish language pack from windows 10. It works now

    upload_2022-7-21_23-55-10.png
     
    TeorikDeli likes this.
  36. TeorikDeli

    TeorikDeli

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Posts:
    150
    Yet again, another Unity bug caused from OS locale (just I suspected above) ='( Sometimes we can't even build our games when using the OS in Turkish. I am using the OS in English, I think, since 2018.
     
  37. ASIM-SENYUVA

    ASIM-SENYUVA

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Posts:
    90
    Thanks for update.