Search Unity

Question Display an image in native resolution of a Head Mounted Display

Discussion in 'VR' started by valentin_siebenkees, Jan 19, 2021.

1. valentin_siebenkees

valentin_siebenkees

Hello Community,

I am trying to analyze the displays of vr/ar devices. (At the moment I have the HP Reverb and the Hololens2).
    I am currently working with Unity and the Mixed Reality Toolkit and I am new to both.
    For the measurement I want to display a test image in the devices native resolution and if possible in the origional quality without any compression.
    I would appreciate any help on how to achieve this goal!

So far I have my test images in native resolution (atleast for the HP Reverb, since the Hololens is a little different) and im playing around with ways to display them. I tried rendering them as Sprite or attaching the texture to a material and an object, the issue im having here is that I have to place the Sprite or Object in a certain distance in the 3D unity space to make it visible on the HMD, but I feel like changing the z-parameter changes the resolution of the Sprite/Object.

Is there something like a reference point/distance, where the resolution is actually the native resolution?

Are there any other approaches to display an image?

Also I am not quiet sure which settings i have to choose to load the texture into the Unity editor, it seems like there is a lot of interpolation happening there.

Thank you very much for any help and greetings,

Valentin

2. joejo

joejo

Unity Technologies

Knowing what you are trying to do/accomplish may impact any solution that can be offered. Can you provide more information about what it is you are doing and why?

3. valentin_siebenkees

valentin_siebenkees

Hello Joejo,

Thanks for your reply!

As you wanted, some further information about what I´m trying to do:

My goal is to evaluate displays of VR/AR devices in various terms, for example luminance or color representation.