Search Unity

  1. Unity 2018.3 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The Unity Pro & Visual Studio Professional Bundle gives you the tools you need to develop faster & collaborate more efficiently. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Want more efficiency in your development work? Sign up to receive weekly tech and creative know-how from Unity experts.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Build games and experiences that can load instantly and without install. Explore the Project Tiny Preview today!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Want to provide direct feedback to the Unity team? Join the Unity Advisory Panel.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Watch the overview now.
    Dismiss Notice

Disabling Physics2D in Cinemachine

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by Stormy102, Jun 7, 2018.

  1. Stormy102

    Stormy102

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Posts:
    454
    Hi,
    In 2018.2b, disabling the Physics2D component (which isn't needed in a 3D game like ours) results in an error as Cinemachine depends on components from this module. Will this problem be rectified in a future release by disabling the relevant components or will I still need to keep this module enabled?

    -Matt
     
  2. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    1,828
    Yes there are a small number of classes in Cinemachine that have dependencies on 2D physics, simply in order to support 2D games. In the current release, it might be only CinemachineConfiner. You could just delete it.
     
    Stormy102 likes this.
  3. Stormy102

    Stormy102

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Posts:
    454
    Are there any plans in which you can detect which modules are installed? It's just that we use source control along with an automated build server, so just deleting it wouldn't be an option upon the full 2018.2 release...
     
  4. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    1,828
    Yes, but you're going to have to find an interim solution until then. Maybe just don't disable the 2D physics module for now.
     
    Stormy102 likes this.
  5. Stormy102

    Stormy102

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Posts:
    454
    No worries. We're just experimenting with 2018.2b at the moment, before we do a full-scale upgrade. Thanks for the response. :)
     
  6. Feelnside

    Feelnside

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    56
    Could you please clarify how to delete this script? I'm trying to do it but it's a part of the Cinemachine package, so I don't have access to it.
     
  7. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    1,828
    You would have to embed Cinemachine in your project. This is done by copying the files from the Package Cache into your Assets folder, then removing CM from the project's manifest. Then you can edit the scripts. You can ask for more details about embedding packages on the Package Manager forum.
     
  8. Feelnside

    Feelnside

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Posts:
    56
    Understand, thank you!
     
  9. Hubertsn

    Hubertsn

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Posts:
    6
    Hello @Gregoryl,

    I have been running into this problem as well using Cinemachine 2.2.7 without Physics2D package. I suggested Package Dependent Compilation in the Package Manager Forum.

    Meanwhile I have been trying to use my own symbols for packages and modified the Cinemachine package making Physics2D optional. 4 scripts depend on Physics2D: CinemachineConfiner.cs, CinemachineConfinerEditor.cs, CinemachineCollisionImpulseSource.cs, CinemachineTriggerAction.cs.

    Maybe I found a bug while doing that in CinemachineColliisonImpulseSource.cs.
    Code (CSharp):
    1.         private float GetMassAndVelocity(Collider other, Collider2D other2d, ref Vector3 vel)
    2.         {
    3.             bool getVelocity = vel == Vector3.zero;
    4.             float mass = 1;
    5.             if (m_ScaleImpactWithMass || m_ScaleImpactWithSpeed || m_UseImpactDirection)
    6.             {
    7.                 //...
    8.                 var rb = other != null ? other.attachedRigidbody : null;
    9.                 if (rb != null)
    10.                 {
    11.                     if (m_ScaleImpactWithMass)
    12.                         mass *= rb.mass;
    13.                     if (getVelocity)
    14.                         vel += rb.velocity;
    15.                 }
    16.                 //Shouldn't rb2d refer to other2d?
    17.                 var rb2d = other != null ? other.attachedRigidbody : null;
    18.                 if (rb2d != null)
    19.                 {
    20.                     if (m_ScaleImpactWithMass)
    21.                         mass *= rb2d.mass;
    22.                     if (getVelocity)
    23.                     {
    24.                         Vector3 v = rb2d.velocity;
    25.                         vel += v;
    26.                     }
    27.                 }
    28.             }
    29.             return mass;
    30.         }
     
    Pacosmico and Stormy102 like this.
  10. Gregoryl

    Gregoryl

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2016
    Posts:
    1,828
    Awesome! You're way ahead of me!
    Adding conditional symbols is on my todo list!
    And thanks for the bug report - you're absolutely right.
    Cheers!
     
    Hubertsn likes this.
  11. Stormy102

    Stormy102

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Posts:
    454
    Nice to see even Unity suffer from copy-paste code bugs :D