Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.

Question Disable caching per Key

Discussion in 'Unity Remote Config' started by Binary42, Mar 1, 2023.

  1. Binary42

    Binary42

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Posts:
    207
    Hello,

    I have several scenarios where I don't want the values to be written to the user's drive, or for them to have access to them and be able to manipulate them. I know that there is always encryption, but the best solution in my opinion is when the data resides only in memory, just as long as needed.

    For example:
    - disable offline play
    - enforcing updates
    - kill switch for disabling demo/test versions
    - sensible data like API keys

    The documentation mentions
    "This mechanism is applied for all platforms except for consoles, as writing on the disc for consoles requires special platform permissions"
    Can this behaviour be triggered on other platforms?
     
    SebT_Unity likes this.
  2. SebT_Unity

    SebT_Unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2021
    Posts:
    248
    Hi Binary42,

    Thanks for posting on the forums.
    My understanding is you would like the same functionality offered to consoles on other platforms.

    You can find out more about caching here.

    One thing to note is that Remote Config will cache the values but if you do not need to use it you can set your code as follows

    As you can see in the snippet below remote config will only fill our enemy health if the ConfigOrign.Remote has values. If you do not supply cached values then your enemyHealth will be null.
    Code (CSharp):
    1. void ApplyRemoteSettings (ConfigResponse configResponse) {
    2.         // Conditionally update settings, depending on the response's origin:
    3.         switch (configResponse.requestOrigin) {
    4.             case ConfigOrigin.Default:
    5.                 Debug.Log ("No settings loaded this session; using default values.");
    6.                 break;
    7.             case ConfigOrigin.Cached:
    8.                 Debug.Log ("No settings loaded this session; using cached values from a previous session.");
    9.                  //Since we don't assign enemy health here the value will be cached but never used
    10.                  //enemyHealth = RemoteConfigService.Instance.appConfig.GetInt ("enemyHealth");
    11.            
    12.                 break;
    13.             case ConfigOrigin.Remote:
    14.                 Debug.Log ("New settings loaded this session; update values accordingly.");
    15.          
    16.                 enemyHealth = RemoteConfigService.Instance.appConfig.GetInt ("enemyHealth");
    17.                 break;
    18.         }

    I also highly suggest you write your use case and suggestion on the following roadmap. Incase the above doesn't help you with your specific scenario. Scroll down to the bottom under remote config and make sure to submit your feedback there.
     
  3. Binary42

    Binary42

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Posts:
    207
    Thanks, ignoring the cached values will help.

    I was referring to the manual about the consoles functionality, but i does not contain any further information how to archive the console behaviour. Before i write my use case/suggestion on the roadmap, it makes sense to explore the already available options. So can caching be disabled at all?

    It would be quite convenient to use the remote config for API keys and rotating them, for ex. for a 3rd party cloud map service that is billed by usage. It would be impractical if users had access to those keys and could use them like they please on account of the developer.
     
  4. SebT_Unity

    SebT_Unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2021
    Posts:
    248
    Hi Binary42.
    We would love to hear more about your use case please take the time to add your feature request. You can also explain your scenario in detail here!

    There is currently no way to disable cache, The workaround would be to simply not work with cached data as mentioned above.
     
  5. Binary42

    Binary42

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Posts:
    207
    Thanks, i added my suggestion to the roadmap.
     
    SebT_Unity likes this.