Search Unity

Difficulties Recreating Camera System to Cinemachine Camera System

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by Zyrathius, Oct 10, 2018.

1. Zyrathius

Zyrathius

Hi Guys,

Firstly, love Cinemachine so far. The transitions are amazing! I'm new to using/posting to forums, so still learning these tools, sorry if the post is messy.

Ok, so finally have had some time to try converting my legacy camera system over to Cinemachine. It has been giving me fits thus far trying to recreate some of the things I was previously doing. I believe it's mostly related to either my setup or how I'm try to talk to them in Cinemachine.

Previous legacy setup was a camera which orbited around a specific target. I have code that moves the specific target around from various objects during runtime. So the net effect is you can move from object(s) to object(s) and always have an orbiting camera that is able to zoom in and out with the mouse wheel.

This legacy setup I felt was closest to the new Cinemachine Free Look Camera system and so I tried to setup something similar using the FreeLook and with the help of some code in another thread from @Gregoryl managed to get the mouse wheel zooming in and out as well. Works and looks really nice so far.

So the problem begins when I have tried to implement the additional features of my old camera system. I had a function that would calculate the bounds of every object or objects you wanted to "highlight" the users focus on and pass to the orbiting camera and so it would then adjust it's distance from the objects so that they fit in view. This was the initial behavior when the function fired, but at any point after the user could then override and resume zooming in or out and orbiting again. It is this behavior I have been struggling to implement.