Search Unity

Resolved Different Prefab for each player NetCode

Discussion in 'Netcode for GameObjects' started by KingTooTall, Feb 4, 2022.

1. KingTooTall

KingTooTall

Hi all,
    I'm sorry if this has already been answered, but after searching around I cannot find a simple answer...
    My game has 2 players only. I would like to have player 1 and player 2 each have their own prefab instantiated and spawned. I cant seem to find out how to override the default player prefab or use NONE and again, have it spawn my own prefabs (each prefab different for each player). I've looked into SpawnAsPlayerObject but I'm new to netcode and am kinda lost. Any help would be great.
    Thanks
    King

nguyenlamlll likes this.
  2. CosmoM

CosmoM

In the NetworkManager inspector, set "Player Prefab" to none and add your different player prefabs as NetworkPrefabs below that. Then as an example script:

Code (CSharp):
    1. public class PlayerSpawner : NetworkBehaviour {
    2.     [SerializeField] private GameObject playerPrefabA; //add prefab in inspector
    3.     [SerializeField] private GameObject playerPrefabB; //add prefab in inspector
    5.     [ServerRpc(RequireOwnership=false)] //server owns this object but client can request a spawn
    6.     public void SpawnPlayerServerRpc(ulong clientId,int prefabId) {
    7.         GameObject newPlayer;
    8.         if (prefabId==0)
    9.              newPlayer=(GameObject)Instantiate(playerPrefabA);
    10.         else
    11.             newPlayer=(GameObject)Instantiate(playerPrefabB);
    12.         netObj=newPlayer.GetComponent<NetworkObject>();
    13.         newPlayer.SetActive(true);
    14.         netObj.SpawnAsPlayerObject(clientId,true);
    15.     }
    16. }

nguyenlamlll, al33f, Ksanone and 5 others like this.
  3. KingTooTall

KingTooTall

Cosmo,