Search Unity

  1. Full schedule for #UniteBerlin is now available! Featuring talks on our roadmap, hands-on labs and much more! Check it out!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2018.1 has arrived! Read about it here
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Scriptable Render Pipeline improvements, Texture Mipmap Streaming, and more! Check out what we have in store for you in the 2018.2 Beta.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. ARCore is out of developer preview! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Magic Leap’s Lumin SDK Technical Preview for Unity lets you get started creating content for Magic Leap One™. Find more information on our blog!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

Different MoCap Rigs Usage

Discussion in 'Animation' started by Sollthar, Apr 16, 2018.

  1. Sollthar

    Sollthar

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    474
    Hello there dear community

    I'm having a bit of trouble getting this to work and I was hoping someone of you knows how it can be done (if it can be done easily at all).

    Is there an easy way to use differently rigget motion capture rigs (for example the ones from http://mixamo.com and http://mocaponline.com) on the same base human mesh?

    They are recorded and layouted differently, so per standard, don't match. Is there such an option at all?
     
  2. theANMATOR2b

    theANMATOR2b

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Posts:
    7,670
    Yes you just have to configure the bones in the mocap rigs with the humanoid rig in Unity on import.
    Once your character or one of the mocap animations is configured to match the humanoid structure, you can copy from existing avatar - when importing the other animations/rigs, which speeds up the process of having to configure every animation/rig on import.
    The common workflow is to import the character, configure the rig to humanoid. Then when importing animations with rigs that are not the same - copy the avatar definition from the character and the imported animations/rigs will work on the existing character setup in Unity.
     
  3. Sollthar

    Sollthar

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    474
    Thank you for your answer. I have tried this, however I didn't get it to work and got an error message because some of the joints on those avatars apparently don't match... Maybe I'm doing something wrong. Will try again.
     
  4. theANMATOR2b

    theANMATOR2b

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Posts:
    7,670
    Following up - Did you solve?
    What was the error message?