Search Unity

Differences between transform.Translate, rigidbody.Velocity and rigidbody.MovePosition?

Discussion in 'Physics' started by vertig02, Jun 26, 2018.

1. vertig02

vertig02

So i'm relatively new to Unity and i'm currently playing around with movement of physical objects, and I found these three Script methods, is there any difference between them and which one would be best for which situation if they are different?

2. xVergilx

xVergilx

Transform is not a physics based component. It's position, rotation and scale of the object.
    It doesn't interact with physics system on it's own.

Transform.Translate - moves the transform component ignoring physics.

Rigidbody is physics based component that performs different kinds of physics interactions, like collisions, depenetration, forces and more.

Rigidbody.velocity - you shouldn't modify directly.
    You should use Rigidbody.AddForce / Rigidbody.AddTorque.
    It is used to get/set to directly pull the direction/velocity from rigidbody bypassing physics calculations done internally.

Rigidbody.MovePosition - it attempts to move the object to the specific world space position, by interpolating and calculating forces on it's own.

So they are different.
    There's drastically more than this, this is just a dumbed down simplified explanation.
    If you want to learn more I suggest starting with Scripting API / Manual. There's plenty of info there.

Last edited: Jun 28, 2019
  3. vertig02

vertig02

Just did some research, amd i got a little confused about .MovePosition, because it stated there that it only works when you set isKinematic to false, otherwise it just teleports. MovePosition supposedly takes Phtsics into account, but when isKinematic is false the RigidBody is not affected by Physics anymore, so won't that mean it would be the same as .Translate?

4. xVergilx

xVergilx

When isKinematic is set to true - it does indeed teleports right away. But then again, it's designed that way.