Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions by the end of July. Read our announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

Feedback Did we just remove the search when right-clicking on project view?

Discussion in 'Unity 6 Beta' started by KomeijiSatorin, Jan 24, 2024.

  1. KomeijiSatorin

    KomeijiSatorin

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2021
    Posts:
    32
    I mean, I love the search functionnality back when it was still in alpha, it saved me lots of time. But now I noticed that the search is gone, when right-clicking on project view pops up the old white menu. Was this removed intentionally? Or do I have the choice to turn it back on?
     
    jaquanjjrice2233 likes this.
  2. MiTschMR

    MiTschMR

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2018
    Posts:
    524
  3. KomeijiSatorin

    KomeijiSatorin

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2021
    Posts:
    32
    jaquanjjrice2233 likes this.
  4. Lurking-Ninja

    Lurking-Ninja

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2024
    Posts:
    574
    You know how it is, both the two Linux users and the half dozen ZX Spectrum, sorry, OSX users are experiencing UI issues with the context menu, so because of this, the Windows users aren't allowed to use an actually usable context menu either. We have to suffer together, we are allowed to kept hostage by a small minority. All this, because Unity can't make a simple context menu in a year time.
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2024
  5. KomeijiSatorin

    KomeijiSatorin

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2021
    Posts:
    32
    I think they could just make it like the feature of showing windows in task bar, just give us option to choose between the two in preferences, instead of brutally removing the feature.
     
    jaquanjjrice2233 likes this.
  6. diverges_unity

    diverges_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2023
    Posts:
    3
    Out of curiosity, does quick search help with this scenario? There's a hotkey and it can select options from the 'Create' menu.
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2024
    jaquanjjrice2233 likes this.
  7. KomeijiSatorin

    KomeijiSatorin

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2021
    Posts:
    32
    That helps by a very limited amount. It selects from create menu but also other assets, thus I have to type more to narrow down the possibilities, not as efficient as the new context menu.
     
    jaquanjjrice2233 likes this.
  8. Breamax

    Breamax

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2021
    Posts:
    32
    Many unity packages have added options under assets. As a result, the unity assets menu is now very long, and it is very troublesome to find the desired options without searching.
     
  9. Neonage

    Neonage

    Joined:
    May 22, 2020
    Posts:
    288
    The most bugging thing is that this new menu still persists in 2023.2.x, and is so buggy that when you try to multi-select and right click - the selection is being changed to the object you've right-clicked!!! Like... I mean... WHAT THE F***... How could you miss such a basic issue for so long?? I've found it in a few minutes of using the editor, and it makes this version unusable!
     
    Lars-Steenhoff likes this.
  10. joan_stark

    joan_stark

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2018
    Posts:
    57
    They create a context menu that is needed from years ago. It's buggy as hell and not responsive. But Unity instead of fixing what is needed from years ago, decides to remove it and release it "in feature version" which basically could mean we will never release it.

    I'm honestly tired of this stuff. It's really really disappointing and bothering. They don't understand anything. How can such a crucial feature be REMOVED instead of FIXED. It's a F***ing joke. Give me the permits and I'll do the context menu for you for free I promise.
     
  11. Lars-Steenhoff

    Lars-Steenhoff

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    3,554
    This might interest you:
    #52
    https://github.com/neon-age/Unify?tab=readme-ov-file
     
  12. Kabinet13

    Kabinet13

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2019
    Posts:
    154
    Yeah I'm going to be honest, I want a much better explanation for why the decision was made to drop the context menus. Was the foundation actually so deeply broken that the team didn't think they could fix it? Why is it that we seemingly never get UX improvements in the editor these days? It's especially frustrating when the only real improvement to come about in a while gets taken away for no good reason.
     
  13. Ryiah

    Ryiah

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Posts:
    21,740
    If you think about how they couldn't figure out a context menu it's kinda obvious why we don't get nice things. :p
     
    joan_stark likes this.