Search Unity

Bug Did something change with EditorGUILayout.Foldout?

Discussion in '2019.3 Beta' started by JRRReynolds, Dec 27, 2019.

  1. JRRReynolds

    JRRReynolds

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Posts:
    170
    None of my foldouts will open up (you click on the arrow and no drop down occurs) in 2019.3.0f3 but they all work just fine in 2019.2.17. Did something change with the way foldouts work in the editor that I missed in the update notes? It has something to do with "= EditorGUILayout.Foldout(___, "_____"); never changing in value when the dropdown arrow is clicked. Using a static fyi in case that matters: public static bool m_PresetFoldout;

    Once I change that to true the foldout appears, but again the toggle arrow doesn't work at all and it will never toggle to false. Same script works as expected without problems on 2019.2.17, so was wondering if this was a bug or a deliberate change somewhere and if any other users are experiencing any issues with foldouts. Thanks!
     
  2. zhuxianzhi

    zhuxianzhi

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Posts:
    45
    I encountered the same problem.
     
  3. JRRReynolds

    JRRReynolds

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Posts:
    170
    Thanks for the update, glad to hear I'm not the only one!
     
  4. JRRReynolds

    JRRReynolds

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Posts:
    170
    Bump just to see any updates
     
  5. richardkettlewell

    richardkettlewell

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,374
    I recommend reporting a bug and replying here with the case number for tracking purposes.
     
  6. JRRReynolds

    JRRReynolds

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Posts:
    170
    @richardkettlewell Thank you for the advice! This has been resolved by Metron - solution: click the foldout name (to the right of the toggle arrow)
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2020
    richardkettlewell likes this.
  7. Metron

    Metron

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Posts:
    1,013
    Have you tried clicking on the foldout name?
     
    JRRReynolds likes this.
  8. JRRReynolds

    JRRReynolds

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Posts:
    170
    Edit: To clarify, Metron meant the actual foldout name as opposed to the toggle arrow, and this does indeed reveal the foldout.
    Thanks @Metron !
     
    richardkettlewell and Metron like this.
  9. Orlando_AGS

    Orlando_AGS

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Set the toggleOnLabelClick parameter to true, that fixes it.
     
    richardkettlewell likes this.
  10. NeedsLoomis

    NeedsLoomis

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Posts:
    14
    Bumping this because its breaking third party assets that don't have anything to the right of the foldout.

    Also, Orlando's suggestion is how I fixed it wherever its an issue.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2020
  11. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,894
    Could you please submit a bug report for the issue?
     
  12. richardkettlewell

    richardkettlewell

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,374
    LeonhardP and JRRReynolds like this.
  13. TitaniumBrendan

    TitaniumBrendan

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2019
    Posts:
    2
unityunity