Search Unity

Did I just lose a chunk of code due to a VisualStudio and Unity integration bug?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by ebasoufeliz, Sep 15, 2020.

1. ebasoufeliz

ebasoufeliz

Hi all, thank you for taking a look. I'd like to point out I am a beginner and am just doing a small project, so I might not get most of the advanced concepts out there.

I just want to know if there is any way of finding a backup or some temporary old script file.
    This is what happened:

For the last hours I have been writing some code in my unity's projects scripts. I have been saving it constantly, but I might not have saved it into unity's scenes for some time (since I had no need to keep coming back to unity). When I decided to test it, I saved and tried playing the scene to test my code.

It wouldn't run properly: It would give me a Debug.Log message that there was no longer at the script. Also, it would stop there and not do anything I had written in the past hours. At some point, Visual studio crashed and I couldn't do ANYTHING with the windows, saying it was deemed to be ignored or something. I simply forced-closed it and reopened Unity.

When I reopened the script, I realized I had lost most of my code. When I checked, the line of the Debug.Log that I had erased before was there, what makes me believe that Unity simply rolled back my scripts and did some overwrite on them.

Now, I have been loking at a lot of suggested temporary and backup files for Visual Studio on the internet, even Unity, but I can't find ANY temporary/backup files (neither this project nor other projects). This makes me assume I have simply lost it and gotta redo my work.

Is it a normal thing to happen? Can I prevent or even fix it?

Thank you for your help.

2. Kurt-Dekker

Kurt-Dekker

Data does get lost. I wouldn't consider it "normal" but it certainly can be expected.