Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions by the end of July. Read our announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

device back button and 'pin to start' icon is the Unity 3D icon

Discussion in 'Windows' started by LuxUnity, Sep 12, 2013.

  1. LuxUnity

    LuxUnity

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Posts:
    717
    I have two issues.

    How to I can manage the "device back button" of a winphone?

    And

    In my unity project I have set the app icon, but when I compile in microsoft studio express 2012, the app have the Unity icon.

    :confused:
     
  2. namine

    namine

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Posts:
    21
    For the first question : back button is mapped to Escape key, so you have to do :

    if (Input.GetKeyDown(KeyCode.Escape))
    // go back here
     
  3. LuxUnity

    LuxUnity

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Posts:
    717
    Many thanks!
     
  4. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,745
    For the second question:

    You have to set tiles in addition to icons, as they will show up on the phone as well.
     
  5. LuxUnity

    LuxUnity

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Posts:
    717
    Where is the menu to set tiles?
     
  6. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,745
    There isn't one at the moment, I'm afraid. It will be fixed in the future.

    However, you can do it manually by going into ExportedSolutionDirectory/ProjectName/Assets/Tiles and changing the images there.
     
  7. LuxUnity

    LuxUnity

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Posts:
    717
    Thank you. I'll try that.
     
  8. SteveJ

    SteveJ

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Posts:
    3,085
    Hi guys,

    My Windows Phone version of my app just got rejected for these same two reasons.

    I can probably sort out the tile icon issue, but In terms of responding to the back button on the main screen, is Application.Quit() the correct way to go?

    There's actually two failures reported by them:

    (so, Application.Quit?)

    and

    Does anyone know if they require that button to provide functionality like moving back through menus, exiting the active game and returning to the main menu, etc?
     
  9. BFS-Kyle

    BFS-Kyle

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    885
    See http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windowsphone/develop/hh184840(v=vs.105).aspx

    That, combined with the two failures you quoted, would hint that you should:

    A) Quit the game when back is pressed at the main menu
    B) Navigate back to previous pages when in menus (e.g. from options, hit back, go back to main menu)
    C) Pause the game when you are in-game and back is hit.
     
  10. SteveJ

    SteveJ

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Posts:
    3,085
    Fun...

    I'll work on that stuff tonight and resubmit.

    Thanks!
     
  11. SteveJ

    SteveJ

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Posts:
    3,085
    I just got rejected again. This time with the following message:

    Is that another one that has to be set in some undocumented way?
     
  12. Guma89

    Guma89

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    I got the same problem :(
     
  13. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    10,745
    There are two folders in which you have to change the icons:

    Code (csharp):
    1. <ExportedProjectDir>\Assets\
    2. <ExportedProjectDir>\Assets\Tiles\
     
  14. SteveJ

    SteveJ

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Posts:
    3,085
    The icon is pretty easy - I think you might even be able to see it in Visual Studio as maybe "Application Icon"? Not sure - it's all a blur at this point, but it definitely wasn't hard to fix.

    The Back button is slightly more painful as they expect you to use it EVERYWHERE. I put it in on the main menu functions but it still got rejected as I hadn't used it within the game - I have a Quit button which gives an on-screen Yes or No option, and they forced me to implement the Back button for the "No" option, even though they're both on-screen buttons. Anyway... whatever :)

    It got through after making all those changes.