Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Developer needed advice

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Ed_Muel, Mar 16, 2017.

1. Ed_Muel

Ed_Muel

Hi,

First time on these forums but I've been using unity for a few years now. Hoping this is the place to give some good advice.

What would you do if you had a genuine game idea... I don't mean a storyline for a game, or a clone of an existing game or even a million pound 'if I owned my own studio this is what i'd do' game. A simple indie game that could be made in unity, but was a new idea that really worked.

I've made proof of concept, set out my maps, written some A*, loaded a level, added a decent menu, and It does really work. First glance it doesn't set the world alight but it's got some serious depth to it, looks good and above all, it's new.

Unfortunately life does get in the way and I barely had time to write this post, let alone do the last 1000 finishing touches it needs...

So what would you do? I can't tell anyone what it is, it's not like I can own an idea in this day and age especially when I can't develop it myself. I could give it up, but if I'm right and it is good, i'd be gutted having it and then missing out.

Are there any options here? I read a post a while back that said no one will ever make your game for you, but there must be capable people out there looking for a project... and if there was, how would that work, can it be monetized? Do you have gentleman agreements? Am I completely wasting my time, my ideas probably terrible and I should forget about it... any advise would be great

Thanks

2. LaneFox

LaneFox

Pro developer advice: Develop.

MD_Reptile and theANMATOR2b like this.
  3. BIG-BUG

BIG-BUG

Unfortunately, this.