Search Unity

Question Detect headset removed

Discussion in 'VR' started by yessaad, Feb 8, 2021.

1. yessaad

yessaad

Hi all,

I'm a newbie developer and currently work for a museum.
    I want to control a 360 degree video without using the controllers.
    I am using the "isuserpresent" function to play / pause / stop the video. Everything works fine in the runtime (oculus Link) but when I build it doesn't.

Does anyone have any idea where the problem is ?

I work with Unity 2019.4 + Bolt + Oculus integration 23.1

2. Tanya_Li

Tanya_Li

Unity Technologies

Hey,

You could try using CommonUsages.userPresence. https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/XR.CommonUsages-userPresence.html

Example as below:
    Code (CSharp):
    2. InputDevice headDevice = InputDevices.GetDeviceAtXRNode(XRNode.Head);
    3. if (headDevice.isValid)
    4. {
    5.     bool userPresent = false;
    6.     bool presenceFeatureSupported = headDevice.TryGetFeatureValue(CommonUsages.userPresence, out userPresent);
    7.     Debug.Log("presence feature supported " + presenceFeatureSupported + " userPresent is " + userPresent);
    8. }

3. Ikaro88

Ikaro88

this works fine but not work with openXR on quest 2 (works on editor but NOT on build)
    Any way to let it work with OpenXR?

d1favero likes this.
  4. AndreasWang

AndreasWang

You could make an OpenXR feature and override OnSessionStateChange() to check for user presence. The input parameters map to this enum, and you could consider XR_SESSION_STATE_FOCUSED as a state where the user is present

npatch likes this.
  5. amogha_unity

amogha_unity

Hello,
    I am actually working on a Pico headset and found out PXR_SDK does have the provision where we can detect if the headset is removed or not.
    Can someone suggest me what would be the best option for me to detect if the headset is removed or not in the android build.

Unity version:2021.3.21

Thanks

6. npatch

npatch

Just tried this. Works nicely.