Search Unity

Assets Detailed C# Third Person Controller Using Kubold Animations

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by PatysTy, Dec 6, 2018.

1. PatysTy

PatysTy

Hello everyone,

I am brand new to Unity so as an initial project I have decided to work on developing a third person controller using Kubold's animations with a focus on flexibility, realism, and responsiveness. I opted to build a controller off of Kubold's animation sets as they seem high quality, and his background in the industry. I have limited programming experience from my degree and some limited work experience, as a result much of this is for my own personal learning.

I have created a basic pivot in place and walk system to figure out how the mecanim system is set up. Essentially Kubold built his mecanim system for locomotion taking in four parameters, input magnitude, direction, rotation and is right foot forward. Right now I am using the input from a gamepad, however, I am working to keep the logic of the input system and the movement system separate so that I can use the same controller for AI. Here is a showcase of what I have so far.

I am thinking I will reprogram this system as there are some interesting results that have arisen with how I have set the system up. For example, I have two (small) issues with my system. The first is that the character will walk a small circle before walking backwards, and the second is when pivoting in place the character can overshoot his rotation making him pivot a second time to get back to zero.