Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Destroying objects between scenes?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by yummynath, Jul 21, 2020.

1. yummynath

yummynath

Hello! Obligatory : I'm a noob at Unity and coding. I'm trying to create a 2D top down RPG which has the player going on "quests", consuming items and beating baddies. The regular.

I have 2 scenes right now, an Overworld and a small path that leads to an Orchard scene. I used Scene Management and a triggered box collider to change scenes and that works perfectly. In said Orchard there are few item pick ups such as Health/Ammo etc. Once I collect it, go back into the Overworld scene, and if I get back to the Orchard scene, those items reappear and I would like to destroy them permanently.

I've read online that Don'tDestroyOnLoad will preserve the current state of the object, but given there will be quite a few around the game, I think it's going to create a lot of "clutter" in the memory. I could also create a boolean value for that pick up and have it checked on the Awake/Start function, but again I would think there's a more efficient way of doing it (since I plan to have around 30 items around the world in general, I know I'll be prone to error). I've tried "SetActive" to false, created a bool value that check if the setactive is false and called it on the Start function, but I'm sure that doesn't work since the scene reloads all information fresh.

Is there any function or code I can use to say "Permanently" destroy the game object once picked up, and if I head back to scene it'll go away?

2. basnijhof01

basnijhof01