Search Unity

Destroying a GameObject inside a Prefab instance is not allowed

Discussion in 'Prefabs' started by stephero, Sep 15, 2018.

1. stephero

stephero

Hi guys,

I encounter a very annoying issue with the new prefab workflow.

I have a "master" GameObject which procedurally generates a sub GameObject as child.
    The child GameObject is not serialized since it's procedurally recomputed from the "Start" callback (both in editor and runtime).
    Note that the child GameObject is flagged as NotEditable AND DontSave via the HideFlags.

When I duplicate my master GameObject in the editor, or when I instantiate a prefab storing my master GameObject, the sub GameObject is also duplicated. To fix this issue, I used to destroy the "old" sub GameObject. Basically, from the sub GameObject, I store a reference on its master. If this reference is broken, I know that this sub GameObject is duplicated or instantiated, so I could safely destroy it using DestroyImmediate.

This trick used to work very very well... until the new prefab workflow introduced in 2018.3.0b1.
    In the beta, when I drop a prefab storing a "master" GameObject, I got this very annoying error message:
    InvalidOperationException: Destroying a GameObject inside a Prefab instance is not allowed.
    and my "old" sub GameObject is not properly destroyed.

Why is this not allowed anymore? How are we supposed to deal with procedurally objects inside prefabs?

Thanks

FerdowsurAsif and Thaina like this.
  2. TooManySugar

TooManySugar

I've not tested this yet cause my prefabs are broken but this sounds
    "Destroying a GameObject inside a Prefab instance is not allowed."
    This is an operation I do constantly in my tank editor hope this is adressed soon.

3. Mads-Nyholm

Mads-Nyholm

Unity Technologies

Hi stephero,
    Please create a bug report with a small repro project, then we will take a look at your use case. Thanks

4. stephero

stephero

Hi,