Search Unity

Designing components

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by Suike, May 8, 2019.

1. Suike

Suike

Hi,
    I'm new to ECS and been experimenting with a few things. While ECS splits the data into components, each with its own relevant information to be used by systems, I assume (please correct me if I'm wrong) it is not a bad design decision to use a component just to store data.

But I don't really know what the best way to design components in this case:

Let's say I have Enemy entries in a database with some simple fields like "Max Health" and "Movespeed". This data is supposed to be immutable in the client, it comes from the database and is read-only.
    But it is also used by systems, for instance, the "Current Health" of an enemy cant be over it's "Max Health".

Should I have an EnemyModel component with the immutable data, and some other components like RuntimeHealth with the "Current Health" and have the HealthSystem lookup values from both components in the entity when increasing "Current Health" so it doesn't go over "Max Health". Or have a HealthComponent with "Current Health" and "Max Health" and having the HealthSystem just looking up one component, but resulting in the external data (from the database) being split into multiples components?

What are the advantages and disadvantages of both approaches? I believe that in the second the memory is more easily available to the system (since it is in the same component) so it will be faster (although IDK if the speed significant looking at how ECS is designed); while in the first I keep a direct representation of the model in the database as a component, so I think it should be easier to understand/maintain.

Please feel free to correct me if I'm wrong anywhere, still learning about this.