Search Unity

Designing a 2D shooter

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by ppowersteef, Jan 24, 2016.

1. ppowersteef

ppowersteef

Hello Everyone,

My name is Steven, 19 years old, Student developer and hobbyist artist.
    and I've been playing with Unity since May 2015.
    Before working on bigger things, I've plans to make an easier/shorter game first to test stuff with the engine.
    trex ingame.PNG
    The game is going to be a Platform Shooter, mainly inspired from the Metroid Franchise.
    it's still a huge WIP, And I don't know much of the engine yet, I've followed 2 Courses ( [1] [2] ) to help me setting up a basic 2D game. now I've quite the basics of my current idea:
    The game was first supposed to be a target smash, but I think I'm directly going for the next step in making a small adventure game, I might use the planned target smash as a demo or something:
    Trexspoiler1.gif

Here I was poud of having weapon pickups that change the weapon:
    Trexspoiler2.gif
    An Boss Enemy that I've planned to program:
    tripod.png
    And a GUI Test:
    Trexspoiler4.gif

:
    The Playable Character itself is an OC of mine, called Trex. A pretty casual looking soldier that likes to use energy based guns.
    All the textures are made by myself using Paint.NET
    I've planned to use FreeSound.org for the soundeffects,
    So far no Ideas what I've planned to do with background music.

I'm still new to Unity, so any feedback is greatly appreciated.

theANMATOR2b and mickmarona like this.
  2. theANMATOR2b

theANMATOR2b

Your character looks a little - TMNTish without any weapons. Nothing to worry about at this stage - gameplay is most important, but if you have designs for the character to be weaponless - later down the line consider a torso redesign that looks a little less like a turtle. :)