Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Descending Slopes

Discussion in '2D' started by elgatodorado, Sep 4, 2019.

1. elgatodorado

elgatodorado

Hello, I am making a platformer 2D and I am having a problem with my slopes.

I solucionated a problem I had when ascending the slopes with a material adding more friction, but when the character descends it makes a little jump (because of the physics) and what I would want that the character will walk over the slope.

I am very new in Unity and all the solutions I found are with Raycast and I don't undestand them(I never used Raycast).

If someone can explain me how to do this or knows good tutorials it would help a lot.

Thank you for your time.

2. bloodwolftico

bloodwolftico

Playing around w materials usually fix problems w slopes, yes. It depends on what you want to do. 0.1 friction can help stop sliding down gentle slopes, and 0 friction can help make sure the player is not getting stuck on platforms when hitting a platform from the side...

If your character is jumping up when sliding down, sounds to me the collider your ground/surface is using may have little bumps in it. Can you run a test by selecting the ground collider and the character collider, and make sure Scene View (where you edit and move stuff) is visible? (By default, Unity will switch to Game View when you hit play (at least in the version and layout im using)). My goal here is to determine whether the player is hitting invisible collider bumps when he slides down.

Maybe you can show us a screenshot of how your ground collider looks like?

3. elgatodorado

elgatodorado

4. bloodwolftico

bloodwolftico

I see. How do you move your character? GetAxisRaw? Rigidbody.AddForce? transform.Translate?

5. elgatodorado

elgatodorado

First I take the direction with GetAxisRaw and then I do this:

Code (CSharp):