Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Depth of field control please for the love of god!

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by knocking, Jul 18, 2017.

1. knocking

knocking

I've posted couple of times already but maybe this is the correct thread area.

How can I control animate depth of field and/or post process profile parameters correctly with timeline editor.

How is this not an option?

Bear with me i'm new with unity but not new to this field.

We wrote some custom scripts to expose post profile parameters to be able to animate them inside 'animation', but we are still running into problems when it comes to playing back these animation inside the timeline editor with everything else. Just the fact that I need the framing to be composed in order to work the depth of field is another problem, can't do both at the same time.

There must be a simpler way to do this simple task.

Everything is becoming a guess work and not so intuitive.

Don't need an auto focus script either I want to be able to manually animate the depth of field at a given frame or time inside a cut scene built within timeline editor.

How are you guys approaching this issue?

unity_l2Lg3ifHv6pkkw likes this.
  2. Gregoryl

Gregoryl

Unity Technologies

@knocking Thing is, the PostProcessing profiles are assets, and the timeline editor is not designed to animate assets - only GameObjecds.

However, I think you can probably make a simple workaround. Create a behavior that sets the DOF in OnUpdate, according to a parmeter it exposes. Then animate that parameter from Timeline. You can animate any field in any behaviour by creating an animation track in Timeline.

3. knocking

knocking

@Gregoryl Thanks for the reply I appreciate it.