Search Unity

Question Depth Mask Shader in URP

Discussion in 'Shader Graph' started by charles_xl, Mar 27, 2020.

1. charles_xl

charles_xl

Hey all,

I’m trying to recreate the depth effect shown in the video
    - and essentially cut fake holes into geometry without modifying the mesh. I’m trying to do this in URP without luck, has this been achieved before? Is this something that isn’t possible with Shader Graph yet?

Anything to steer me in the right direction would be extremely helpful!

2. Elizabeth_LeGros

Elizabeth_LeGros

Unity Technologies

need to make sure URP is generating depth textures, otherwise I dont see any reason that it wouldnt work
    upload_2020-3-27_13-36-25.png

3. charles_xl

charles_xl

I will try that, thanks for the quick response!

Elizabeth_LeGros likes this.
  4. charles_xl

charles_xl

Hey @Elizabeth_LeGros - I'm a bit new to Shader Graph (and shaders in general). The idea is that anything where the depth mask is should basically just render transparent. In my attached screenshot - the hope is the center of the torus is transparent. Any idea how to achieve this effect or available resources to do so? Thank you!

Attached Files:

5. Elizabeth_LeGros

Elizabeth_LeGros

Unity Technologies

I mean you can set the alpha of the center to 0 or modify the mesh to just have no center but I am a bit confused what you are trying to accomplish here; could you explain what the desired effect is? If you want to create a similar effect to quill's then making the center transparent wont achieve that

6. charles_xl

charles_xl

The desired effect is I want to be able to have geometries pass through the center of the torus (or any shape that the depth mask creates). Think Hole in the Wall. The idea being that the actual mesh has to be created with the holes, but rather prefabs for different shapes can be placed at runtime on a surface. Hope that’s helpful, appreciate your help!

7. Elizabeth_LeGros

Elizabeth_LeGros

Unity Technologies