Search Unity

Deploy Hololens App from a second machine

Discussion in 'VR' started by Ali_brown, Jul 4, 2018.

1. Ali_brown

Ali_brown

Hi all

I am fairly new to Unity and programming, so apologies for my ignorance. I have tried searching for a solution to this but cant seem to find anything to resolve my problem.

I am using Unity 2018to create a Hololens App, i have successfully built this app and deployed it to MY Hololens on multiple occasions with no problem at all. However, i am trying to get the app onto a friends Hololens so they can test it for me, but i am having big issues when they try and build it to the headset from VS 2017.
    Here is my process:
    Build from Unity
    Zip and share the full project file (Which has the build within it)
    Unzip folder on Computer #2
    Open the APPNAME.sln file (Using Visual Studio 2017)
    Set same settings [Master] [x86] [Device] and build
    This is where i am stuck. I keep getting a varying amount of errors. The build seems to be referencing Directory paths from the original computer that i build the Unity file from. I try to edit the .sln file and CSharp project file to change any reference i can find from Computer #1 to the saved location on Computer #2 but i just clear some errors and additional errors appear.
    There also seems to be a section that refers to the Unity install on my Computer #1, which uses Unity 2018, but Computer #2 only has 2017 installed, which seems to be where i get an error where it cannot find the Unity player namespace along with a few others.

Is there a process i am doing wrong? Should i be building it from Computer #1 a specific way to be able to deploy to devices from other machines? I dont think i will be able to go down the Windows store route as some data in the app is sensitive.
    I dont have access to Computer #2 for a few days now so cannot upload any Error/log files, but i doubt they would help as i think the issue is how i originally build it on Computer #1