Search Unity

Question Dependency Injection - The right way?

Discussion in 'Testing & Automation' started by Dextozz, Nov 20, 2022.

1. Dextozz

Dextozz

Okay, so I've been working with Unity Unit Testing Package for about two years now, on and off; and after all this time, I still don't know the best way of injecting dependencies in MonoBehaviour classes that would have them referenced in the inspector...

Example class:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. public class TestMe : MonoBehaviour
    2. {
    3.    [SerializeField] private MyOtherClass someClass;
    4.    [SerializeField] private GameObject someObject;
    5.    [SerializeField] private int someInt;
    7.    public void Awake()
    8.    {
    9.       // Do some Init stuff based on passed-in variables
    10.    }
    11. }
    Now... there's a few ways to go about this...
    1. Creating testing-only prefabs and loading those on a test-by-test basis
      Pros:
      - Nothing to worry about. Setup a prefab as you want and you're done
      Cons:
      - Creating a bunch of semi-useless content in the project. Just cluttering stuff up
      - Some tests might require a large amount of prefabs, which might be tedious to setup
      - Prefabs are very fragile. Any major change in the design of the code requires additional work to fix these as well
    2. Using Reflection to inject proper objects at runtime
      Pros:
      - Don't have to maintain a bunch of prefabs in the project for testing
      - Relatively simple and flexible
      Cons:
      - Very very fragile. Renaming variables breaks tests - IDE can help out, but I don't want to rely on that as not everyone uses Rider
    3. Using a DI Framework (ex. Zenject)
      Pros:
      - Kind of does all the heavy lifting for you
      Cons:
      - Introducing a third-party dependency in your project (I'd like to avoid this as much as possible)
      - Zenject is just horrid in my opinion. It's so heavy and "magical" that I can't accept using it