Search Unity

Deform ground mesh/terrain with dynamically modified displacement map

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by grossimatte, Dec 9, 2014.

1. grossimatte

grossimatte

Hello everybody,
    i would like my character to deform a snowy mesh (or a terrain) possibly using a directx11 tessellation shader, at runtime.

I am not an expert of coding and shading, but what seems to make the trick is a dynamically modified displacement map, used in the tessellation shader to "extrude" the mesh. I am making some test using a rendertexture camera, and using the rendertexture material into the displacement map in the tessellation shader, it works, but is not 100% what i am looking for. Actually, the texture is raised up, and not lowered down, and i have not much control over it.

My instinct says that the procedure would be to use two different displacement map, 1 for the main mesh extrusion, and a second one to be subtracted to the first one, so that it can generate a lowering. This way i modify the original displacement map with the player footspteps (or shape) being subtracted.

Does it make sense?

There is already an example on this community, but the author of that package is not updating it anymore, and also not responding to messages, so i decided to go through it by my self.

Any ideas?

Here is the existing example made in unity:
    http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/snow-tessellation-pack.233527/

And here approximately the same technique used in Batman Arkham Origin:
    http://www.slideshare.net/colinbb/gdc2014-deformable-snow-rendering-in-batman-arkham-origins

Also note that i am interested in a non dx11 version, eventually compatible with portable devices.

Thanks in advance

Matt

2. HellSinker

HellSinker

I'm doing a similar stint at the moment - but on a different topic - I wanted to phsyically deform an ocean mesh....

The way I'm deforming the mesh is similar to what you are after....

Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections.Generic;