Search Unity

Decompressing this format (1) is not supported on this platform

Discussion in 'WebGL' started by sirrus, Dec 12, 2016.

  1. sirrus

    sirrus

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Posts:
    250
    Evaluating v5.5.0f2. Our WebGL release seems to spit this error out all over the place (I assume when downloading assetbundles):

    Decompressing this format (1) is not supported on this platform.
    I don't believe that any of our assetbundles are deployed using LZMA but if so, would this be the error that would result?
     
    GubaLord likes this.
  2. Marco-Trivellato

    Marco-Trivellato

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Posts:
    1,653
    Most likely, yes.
     
    GubaLord likes this.
  3. sirrus

    sirrus

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Posts:
    250
    OK. I will try to confirm that that is the issue, thanks.
     
    GubaLord likes this.
  4. andyz

    andyz

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,216
    I am now getting this error on downloading an asset bundle in 5.5.1 webgl (bundle built with 5.3.3) - what could be the reason?

    In browser log it says: Failed to decompress data for the AssetBundle xxx
    which does not really tell me much
     
    GubaLord likes this.
  5. Marco-Trivellato

    Marco-Trivellato

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Posts:
    1,653
    LZMA compression is not supported anymore in Unity WebGL as of 5.5, so you should rebuild your asset bundles with 5.5
     
    GubaLord likes this.
  6. andyz

    andyz

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,216
    Yes I see now thanks - it is annoying though as a lot to rebuild and they are now much bigger in size now.
    But I suggest making a more descriptive error if possible
     
    GubaLord likes this.
  7. jvo3dc

    jvo3dc

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Posts:
    1,429
    I'm trying a "quick" WebGL build with 5.6.1 of an older project and I'm getting the same warning. I've tried both uncompressed and chunk based (LZ4), but with the same result. (And always with (1) between brackets as the format.)

    The strange part is that it does seem to be able to read some of the asset bundle contents. When I had engine stripping on in the build, it complained about MeshCollider not being a class, because it was only used in the asset bundles and not the main project itself.

    Edit: My bad, some of the asset bundles getting retrieved were the wrong ones.
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2017
unityunity