Search Unity

Decision based Game

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by NuhatCosplay, Jan 31, 2020.

1. NuhatCosplay

NuhatCosplay

Hey there,
    I'm just getting started with Unity and i've learned some basics. What i want to create now is a very simple 3d first person game.
    The Player walks through a hallway, ends up in a room with 2 doors in front of him and can decide which one to walk through. Depending on which door or way the player walked through, he'll land up an another room with decisions again. How exactly do i start with this? Creating the environment shouldnt be a problem, but the coding part of this seems complicated to me

2. Antypodish

Antypodish

I strongly suggest you stick with getting started for now https://forum.unity.com/forums/getting-started.82/

Dont venture to making fps, without good understanding of Unity and its API.
    Do few simple 2D projects and prototypes. Try things out. Learn basics of programming and problem solving.

Your current understanding of "basic" is not sufficient for making 3D fps. Just be aware. Is rather shooting yourself in a foot. So take few steps back, start simple.

Good luck.

3. NuhatCosplay

NuhatCosplay

I totall understand what you're saying. My intention is not to make a finished FPS game! My intention is to have a small simple unity project in my portfolio for the university i want to apply to.

4. Antypodish

Antypodish

I don't know what you tried, neither know what you know. So is impossible to even give you sensible hint on the matter.

You description of the problem is also very vague. Something you need really to work on.

Best thing I can suggest, is to focus on 2D first. Look into tutorials and internet. Split problem into smaller pieces. Then work on each piece individually. Then work from the ground up. Once you will understand what you are doing and providing you got time, you may consider making something in 3D.