Search Unity

Debugging Unity Entities Code?

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by spectre1989, Oct 22, 2019.

  1. spectre1989

    spectre1989

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Posts:
    125
    I'd like to stick a breakpoint in some of the Entities source code to see when it gets called etc, but it's not in my generated solution. I've tried dragging the code into my Assets folder rather than installing through the package manager, but it doesn't seem to like that either.. Is it possible to do this?

    Cheers
    J
     
  2. Antypodish

    Antypodish

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Posts:
    10,780
    Which code you try to debug?
    What exactly is your purpose of debugging source code?
    What error you had, after copying?
     
  3. spectre1989

    spectre1989

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Posts:
    125
    I'm not "debugging" as such, I just want to put breakpoints in to see when/how certain things are called, like to see all the cases where Worlds are created for example.
     
  4. tertle

    tertle

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    3,761
    There may be a better solution, but you can just copy the package into your Packages folder

    Would look something like

    /Assets/
    /ProjectSettings/
    /Packages/com.unity.entities/
     
  5. spectre1989

    spectre1989

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Posts:
    125
    Oh nice, that's worked really well. Putting it in Assets must've been the reason for all the errors I was getting, in packages it seems to be fine. Thanks!