Search Unity

Data visualization Unity

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by StephanUMC, Sep 11, 2017.

1. StephanUMC

StephanUMC

I have some Matlab data (x and y coordinates, ie. 2d data) which I would like to stream from Matlab on one computer to Unity on another pc. I'd like Unity to create and visualize a graph of this data 'real-time', eventually for visualization in the HoloLens. Im quite new to Unity and C# but Im wondering if anyone can give me some tips on how to read data from the stream and plot this in realtime. Ive read about the linerenderer and GI options, however I cant find a tutorial on updating the graph real-time with new incoming data from a network stream. In Matlab I created a tcpipserver to stream a dataset and in Visual Studio Ive got a client. Im stuck at creating a clienthandler and visualizing the data (in real-time.)
    -What data format would be most convenient (string, array, matrix....)?
    -How to visualize x,y-data points from Matlab in C# as a graph / plot? (scaling?)
    -How to update the graph real-time, moving the graph to the left replacing old datapoints with new incoming datapoints?

Thanks in advance

2. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

Sounds like an interesting project.

For the graph, you might want to study the options available in the asset store. Of course anything you find there, you could do yourself if you had the time and expertise — but it's not exactly easy; Unity's not really designed for this sort of 2D drawing.

Once you've found a decent graphing/plotting library, then you might ask the author (or post in its forum thread) to ask about how best to update the graph as new data comes in.

For getting the data across the pipe, use whatever format seems easiest, probably on the Matlab side. In C#, you can easily parse the data in string or binary form.

Good luck!

3. Kiwasi

Kiwasi

Particle systems are another great way to visualize data.

4. StephanUMC

StephanUMC